Home / Awards / Dunkirk, Shape of Water lead 2017 Washington DC Critics Nominations

Dunkirk, Shape of Water lead 2017 Washington DC Critics Nominations

Dunkirk and The Shape of Water led the 2017 Washington DC Area Film Critics Association’s nominations this week with seven apiece including Best Film and Best Director. Call Me By Your Name, Mudbound and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri were just behind at six but none of the three achieved that duo of nominations.

Get Out and Lady Bird came in at five with both of their helmers, Jordan Peele and Greta Gerwig, making the Best Director cut. The Post, whose very heart is the DC area, wound up with just three nominations: Meryl Streep, Ensemble and the group’s Best Portrayal of Washington DC award.

The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association will reveal their winners tomorrow, December 8.

Here is the full list of nominees.

Best Film:
Call Me by Your Name
Get Out
Lady Bird
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MissouriBest Director:
Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water)
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)
Jordan Peele (Get Out)
Dee Rees (Mudbound)

Best Actor:
Timothée Chalamet (Call Me by Your Name)
Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)
James Franco (The Disaster Artist)
Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)
Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Best Actress:
Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water)
Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)
Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)
Meryl Streep (The Post)

Best Supporting Actor:
Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)
Armie Hammer (Call Me by Your Name)
Jason Mitchell (Mudbound)
Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Michael Stuhlbarg (Call Me by Your Name)

Best Supporting Actress:
Mary J. Blige (Mudbound)
Tiffany Haddish (Girls Trip)
Holly Hunter (The Big Sick)
Allison Janney (I, Tonya)
Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)

Best Acting Ensemble:
The Post
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Youth Performance:
Dafne Keen (Logan)
Sophia Lillis (It)
Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project)
Millicent Simmonds (Wonderstruck)
Jacob Tremblay (Wonder)

Best Voice Performance:
Will Arnett (The LEGO Batman Movie)
Gael García Bernal (Coco)
Michael Cera (The LEGO Batman Movie)
Bradley Cooper (Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2)
Anthony Gonzalez (Coco)

Best Motion Capture Performance:
Andy Serkis (War for the Planet of the Apes)
Dan Stevens (Beauty and the Beast)
Steve Zahn (War for the Planet of the Apes)
Taika Waititi (Thor: Ragnarok)

Best Original Screenplay:
Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick)
Jordan Peele (Get Out)
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor (The Shape of Water)Best Adapted Screenplay:
Hampton Fancher & Michael Green, Story by Hampton Fancher (Blade Runner 2049)
James Ivory (Call Me by Your Name)
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber (The Disaster Artist)
Aaron Sorkin (Molly’s Game)
Virgil Williams and Dee Rees (Mudbound)

Best Animated Feature:
The Breadwinner
Despicable Me 3
The LEGO Batman Movie
Loving Vincent

Best Documentary:
City of Ghosts
Faces Places
An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power

Best Foreign Language Film:
BPM (Beats Per Minute)
First They Killed My Father
In the Fade
The Square

Best Production Design:
Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decorator: Katie Spencer (Beauty and the Beast)
Production Designer: Dennis Gassner; Set Decorator: Alessandra Querzola (Blade Runner 2049)
Production Designer: Nathan Crowley; Supervising Set Decorator: Gary Fettis (Dunkirk)
Production Designer: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decorators: Shane Vieau, Jeff Melvin (The Shape of Water)
Production Designer: Aline Bonetto; Set Decorator: Anna Lynch-Robinson (Wonder Woman)

Best Cinematography:
Roger A. Deakins, ASC, BSC (Blade Runner 2049)
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom (Call Me by Your Name)
Hoyte Van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC (Dunkirk)
Rachel Morrison, ASC (Mudbound)
Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF (The Shape of Water)

Best Editing:
Paul Machliss, ACE; Jonathan Amos, ACE (Baby Driver)
Joe Walker, ACE (Blade Runner 2049)
Lee Smith, ACE (Dunkirk)
Gregory Plotkin (Get Out)
Sidney Wolinsky, ACE (The Shape of Water)

Best Original Score:
Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch (Blade Runner 2049)
Michael Giacchino (Coco)
Hans Zimmer (Dunkirk)
Alexandre Desplat (The Shape of Water)
Carter Burwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC:
An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power
Last Flag Flying
Mark Felt: The Man Who Brought Down the White House
Spider-Man: Homecoming
The Post


About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

2019 Oscar Predictions: BEST PICTURE (October)

Everything in this month’s top 10 moves except, interestingly, the #1 and the #10 films. …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: