Advertisements
Home / News / Film / 90th Oscar Nominations Return to Live Announcement

90th Oscar Nominations Return to Live Announcement

90th Oscars® Nominations Announcement

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

5:22 a.m. PST/8:22 a.m. EST/1:22 p.m. GMT/9:22 p.m. CST

After last year’s not very well-received pre-taped announcement of the 89th Oscar nominations, this year returns to a two-part live announcement..

The 90th Academy Awards® nominations in all 24 Oscar® categories will be announced in a two-part, live presentation on Tuesday, January 23, via global live stream on Oscar.comOscars.org, the Academy’s digital platforms, a satellite feed and local broadcasters.  The announcement will combine live presentations from the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater, with pre-taped category introductions, which will only be featured in the first half of the announcement.

At 5:22 a.m. PST, the nominees will be announced in the following categories (listed here in no particular order): Cinematography, Costume Design, Film Editing, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Visual Effects.

At 5:38:30 a.m. PST, the nominees will be announced in the following categories (listed here in no particular order): Actor in a Leading Role, Actor in a Supporting Role, Actress in a Leading Role, Actress in a Supporting Role, Animated Feature Film, Directing, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Foreign Language Film, Original Song, Best Picture, Adapted Screenplay and Original Screenplay.

It’s presumed new Academy President John Bailey will make the main announcement. No co-presenter(s) have been named as of yet.

Advertisements

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Toronto International Film Festival Gala trailers for ‘Beautiful Boy,’ ‘Green Book,’ ‘The Hate U Give,’ ‘Shadow’ and more

The Hate U Give World premieres, Oscar contenders, family and social dramas from the US …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: