Home / News / Film / Oscars / Foreign Language Film / 2019 Oscars: Official Submissions for the Foreign Language Film Oscar

2019 Oscars: Official Submissions for the Foreign Language Film Oscar

Belarus’s Crystal Swan, the first Foreign Language Film submission for the 2019 Oscars

This is the official submission list for countries entering the Foreign Language Film Oscar race for the 91st Academy Awards. The list will be updated with news, trivia and statistics as new announcements are made.

This list also includes possible submissions and ‘Other Contenders’ from countries before they’ve been announced. Any changes or additions will be added as announced officially. You can also pop on over to the State of the Race discussion between AwardsWatch foreign correspondent Mina Takla and myself on what the Foreign Language Film Oscar race looks like post Cannes and Berlin as we head into Venice and the other fall festivals.

Official Submissions Director Festival Premiere Studio/US distribution/trailer Notes
Belarus – Crystal Swan Darya Zhuk (1st) Karlovy Vary Trailer Third submission for Belarus (first since 1996). No noms or shortlist mentions.
Estonia – Take It Or Leave It Liina Trishkina-Vanhatalo (1st) 16th submission for Estonia, first for a female director. One nomination (2014’s Tangerines)
Romania – I Do Not Care If We Go Down In History As Barbarians Radu Jude (2nd) Karlovy Vary – Grand Prize winner Trailer 34th submission for Romania. No noms, one shortlist mention (2012’s Beyond the Hills)
Slovakia – The Interpreter Martin Šulík (7th) Trailer 22nd submission for Slovakia. No nominations or short list mentions.
Switzerland – Eldorado Markus Imhoof (4th) Trailer 46th submission for Switzerland. Five nominations, won twice (1984’s Dangerous Moves and 1990’s Journey of Hope)
Turkey – The Wild Pear Tree Nuri Bilge Ceylan (5th) Cannes Trailer 25th submission for Turkey, which has never been nominated. On the short list once, for 2008’s Three Monkeys, also from Nuri Bilge Ceylan
POSSIBLE CONTENDERS Director Festival Premiere Studio/US distribution Notes
Argentina – La Quietude Pablo Trapero
Belgium – Child
Belgium – Girl Lukas Dhont Cannes Netflix Camera d’Or, FIPRESCI, Queer Palm, UCR Best Performance
Brazil – Loveling Gustavo Pizzi
Brazil – Sueño Florianópolis Ana Katz Karlovy Vary Special Jury Prize, Best Actress
Canada – The Fall of the American Empire Denys Arcand
Chile – Y de Pronto el Amanecer Silvio Caiozzi
China – Ash is Purest White Jia Zhangke Cannes
China – An Elephant Sitting Still Hu Bo Berlin
Colombia – Birds of Passage Cristina Gallego and Ciro Guerra Cannes The Orchard
Cazech Republic – Winter Flies Olmo Omerzu Karlovy Vary Best Director
Denmark – The Guilty Gustav Moller Sundance Magnolia Pictures (10/19) World Cinema winner – Dramatic
Egypt – Yomeddine A.B. Shawky Cannes
France – Climax Gaspar Noe Cannes A24
France – Custody Xavier Legrand Venice (2017) Kino Lorber
France – Sorry, Angel Christophe Honore Cannes Strand Releasing
Germany – The Captain Robert Schwentke Music Box Films
Germany – In the Aisles Thomas Stuber Berlin Music Box Films
Germany – Styx Wolfgang Fischer Berlin Ecumenical prize
Germany – Transit Christian Petzold Berlin
Greece – Pity Babis Makridis Sundance
Hungary – Sunset Lázlo Nemes
Iceland – Woman at War Benedikt Erlingsson Cannes
Indonesia – The Seen and Unseen Kamila Andini Berlin
Israel – The Cakemaker Ofir Raul Graizer Karvlovy Vary (2017) Strand Releasing Ecumenical prize
Israel – Redemption Yossi Madmoni and Boaz Yehonatan Yaacov Karvlovy Vary (2017) Best Actor
Italy – Boys Cry Damiano D’Innocenzo and Fabio D’Innocenzo Berlin Feature film debut
Italy – Daughter of Mine Laura Bispuri
Italy – Dogman Matteo Garrone Cannes Magnolia Pictures Best Actor winner
Italy – Happy as Lazzaro Alice Rohrwacher Cannes Netflix Screenplay winner
Italy – Loro Paolo Sorrentino Focus Features
Japan – Shoplifters Hirokazu Kore-eda Cannes Magnolia Pictures Palme d’Or winner
Kazakhstan – Ayka Sergey Dvortsevoy Cannes Best Actress winner
Lebanon – Capernaum Nadine Labaki Cannes Sony Classics Jury Prize winner
Mexico – Museum (Museo) Alonso Ruizpalacios Berlin
Mexico – Roma Alfonso Cuarón Netflix
Mexico – Where Life is Born Carlos Reygadas
Morocco – Sofia Meryem Benm’Barek Cannes
Norway – U – July 22 Erik Poppe Berlin
Paraguay – The Heiresses Marcelo Martinessi Berlin
Philippines – Season of the Devil Lav Diaz
Poland – Cold War Pawel Pawlikowski Cannes Amazon
Poland – Mug (Twarz) Malgorzata Szumowska Berlin Grand Prize winner
Portugal – Diamantino Gabriel Abrantes and Daniel Schmidt Cannes Critics’ Week Grand Prize
Russia – Dovlatov Aleksey German Jr.
Russia – Leto Kirill Serebrennikov Cannes
Serbia – The Other Side of Everything Mira Turajlic
Spain – Everybody Knows Asghar Farhadi Cannes Focus Features
Spain – The Silence of Others Robert Bahar and Almudena Carracedo Berlin Audience award
South Africa – The Harvesters Etienne Kallos Cannes
South Korea – Burning Lee Chang-dong Cannes Well Go USA
South Korea – Grass Hong Sang-soo Berlin
Sweden – Border Ali Abbasi Cannes Neon UCR Grand Prize winner
Syria – My Favorite Fabric Gaya Jiji Cannes
Tunisia – Dear Son Mohamed ben Attia Cannes
Turkey – The Wild Pear Tree Nuri Bilge Ceylan Cannes
Ukraine – Donbass Sergey Loznista Cannes UCR Best Director
Ukraine – When the Trees Fall Marysia Nikitiuk

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Poster and first look at Jeremy Saulnier’s ‘Hold the Dark’

Jeffrey Wright (photo: Netlfix / Vanessa Perez) Netflix today revealed the first look and poster …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: