Home / Awards / La La Land and Manchester by the Sea Top Oklahoma Film Critics Circle (OFCC) Awards

La La Land and Manchester by the Sea Top Oklahoma Film Critics Circle (OFCC) Awards

LLL d 13 _2649.NEF

La La Land has earned another Best Picture win, this time from the Oklahoma Film Critics Society. The film also picked up the Best Director prize for Damien Chazelle. Emma Stone was the runner-up in Best Actress. She was bested by Arrival‘s Amy Adams, who picked up a second award for her 2016 body of work.

Manchester by the Sea won the most today, three awards; Best Actor for Casey Affleck, Best Supporting Actress for Michelle Williams and Best Original Screenplay for Kenneth Lonergan.

Established in 2006, the Oklahoma Film Critics Circle, also known as OFCC, is a nonprofit, 501(c) 7 voluntary organization of Oklahoma-based print, broadcast and Internet film critics who meet its membership criteria. Its overall mission is to support film culture and advance film conversation in the state of Oklahoma.

Here is the full list of winners and runners-up:

Top 10 of the Year (in order)

La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
O.J.: Made in America
Hell or High Water
Green Room
Kubo and the 2 Strings
Sing Street

Best Picture – La La Land
Runner-up: Moonlight

Best Actress – Amy Adams (Arrival)
Runner-up: Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Actor – Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Runner-up: Denzel Washington (Fences)

Best Supporting Actress – Michelle Williams (Manchester by the Sea)
Runner-up: Viola Davis (Fences)

Best Supporting Actor – Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
r/u Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Best Director – Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Runner-up: Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

Best Animated Film – Zootopia
Runner-up: Kubo and the Two Strings

Best Documentary – OJ: Made in America
Runner-up: Weiner

Best Foreign film – The Handmaiden
Runner-up: Elle

Best Ensemble – Manchester by the Sea
Runner-up: Moonlight

Best First Feature – The Witch
Runner-up: The Edge of Seventeen

Best Original Screenplay – Manchester by the Sea
Runner-up: Hell or High Water

Best Adapted Screenplay – Arrival
Runner-up: Moonlight

Body of Work – Amy Adams
Runner-up: Michael Shannon


About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Barry Jenkins lands Thuso Mbedu, Joel Edgerton, Aaron Pierre for ‘Underground Railroad’

(Left) Barry Jenkins, (top) Thuso Mbedu, Aaron Pierre, (bottom) Joel Edgerton, Chase W. Dillon After …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: