Home / Awards / Call Me By Your Name Tops Best Feature at Gotham Awards; Get Out Wins Director and Audience Award

Call Me By Your Name Tops Best Feature at Gotham Awards; Get Out Wins Director and Audience Award

Call Me By Your Name was the big winner at the 2017 Gotham Awards

Call Me Your Name has won the IFP Gotham Awards for Best Feature and Breakthrough Actor for Timothée Chalamet. 

Hosted by writer/director John Cameron Mitchell (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Rabbit Hole), whose opening monologue was a furious riff on everything from current politics to his closest Grindr match, the ribald and left of left cousin to the Independent Spirit Awards began with a Screenplay win for Jordan Peele’s incisive and intense horror/comic satire Get Out. Passing through tributes to former Vice President Al Gore, Oscar-winning director Sofia Coppola and Oscar and Emmy-winning actress and producer Nicole Kidman, the night was punctuated with less politically-infused drama than one would expect and instead concentrated heavily on “the work.” Celebrating independent film and television was the core of the evening among high profile award wins for Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird) and James Franco (The Disaster Artist) and heart-stopping speeches from Jordan Peele (Get Out) and Documentary winner Yance Ford, the evening was the first precursor to what we may see in the awards season ahead of us.

Last year, future Best Picture winner Moonlight won Best Feature here, along with Best Screenplay and the juried Ensemble award. Last year, I predicted Best Feature, Actor, Actress, Breakthrough Director and Breakthrough Series – Long Form correctly. This year, I called Best Feature, Actor, Actress, Breakthrough Actor, Documentary and both Series wins. 

Here is the full list of winners of the 29th Gotham Awards.

Best Feature
Call Me By Your Name

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Screenplay
Get Out, Jordan Peele

Best Actor
James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Best Actress
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance (previously announced)
Mudbound, presented to Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks.

Breakthrough Actor
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

IFP Audience Award
Get Out

Best Documentary
Strong Island

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC): ‘ROMA’ Best Picture; Melissa McCarthy, Michael B. Jordan grab acting prizes

Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira in Alfonso Cuarón’s ROMA (image courtesy of Netflix) The …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: