Home / Awards / Female-led films Top 7 of 11 Producers Guild of America Motion Picture Nominations

Female-led films Top 7 of 11 Producers Guild of America Motion Picture Nominations

The Producers Guild of America has announced its top 10…top 11 films of 2017, including what some will feel are surprise mentions but if you follow the other guilds closely, weren’t that much of a shock.

The Shape of Water, Dunkirk, Lady Bird and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri all showed up as expected but we also saw I, Tonya, Molly’s Game and Wonder Woman push through with female-led films. For I, Tonya and Molly’s Game it was those crucial ACE nominations and that they are both peaking at the right time. For Wonder Woman, since this is a group of producers and it was the highest grossing superhero/comic book movie of the year and a massive critical hit, it makes sense.

Now what to do with this list as it will relate to Best Picture. Having 11 nominees here only makes things harder. With the Academy using a sliding scale of 5-10 nominees we’re definitely looking at our contenders here on this list but there are also films missing here that could have showed up, and might still at the Oscars. MudboundDarkest Hour and The Florida Project could be passion picks that boot someone out of this lineup.

Winners will be announced at the Beverly Hills ceremony on January 20.

Keep an eye out for updated official Oscar predictions next week and track them live right here.

Here are the nominees for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.

“The Big Sick”
Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel
“Call Me By Your Name”
Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito
Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan
“Get Out
Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele
“I, Tonya”
Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley
“Lady Bird
Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill
“Molly’s Game
Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson
“The Post
Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger
“The Shape Of Water
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh
“Wonder Woman
Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

From my predictions last night:

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
“The Boss Baby”
Producer: Ramsey Naito
Producer: Darla K. Anderson
“Despicable Me 3”
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy
Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson
“The Lego Batman Movie”
Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures
The PGA previously announced the nominations in this category on November 20, 2017. Producers who have already been vetted for awards eligibility are listed below and the winner will be announced at the official ceremony on January 20th.
“Chasing Coral”
Producers: Jeff Orlowski, Larissa Rhodes
“City of Ghosts”
Producer: Matthew Heineman
“Cries from Syria”
Producers: Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor, Aaron I. Butler
“Earth: One Amazing Day”
Producer: Stephen McDonogh
*This film is still in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility this year.
“Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower”
*This film is still in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility this year.
“The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee”
Producers: Teddy Kunhardt, George Kunhardt

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

‘Roma’ dominates 1st Latino Entertainment Journalists Association (LEJA) awards

The Latino Entertainment Journalists Association (LEJA) has announced the winners of their inaugural Latino Entertainment Film Awards. …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: