Home / Awards / Rachel Morrison (Mudbound) makes history as American Society of Cinematographers first female nominee

Rachel Morrison (Mudbound) makes history as American Society of Cinematographers first female nominee

Rachel Morrison (Mudbound) broke through one of many glass ceilings in Hollywood by becoming the first female nominee from the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) in the group’s 32-year history. The Oscars, in 89 years, have never nominated a woman in that category. Morrison’s next film is the Marvel blockbuster Black Panther.


Four cinematographers selected as this year’s ASC Award honorees (seen above, in order) were announced in October: Russell Carpenter, ASC (Lifetime Achievement Award), Russell Boyd, ASC, ACS (International Award), Alan Caso, ASC (Career Achievement in Television Award) and Stephen Lighthill, ASC (Presidents Award), while the 2017 Board of Governors Award honoree — a non-cinematographer selected for their contributions to filmmaking — will be announced later this month. (A complete schedule of announcements can be found here.)

The winners will be announced during the 32nd ASC Awards, to be held on February 17 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland, just steps away from the historic ASC Clubhouse.

The nominees:


  • Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC “Blade Runner 2049”
  • Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC “Darkest Hour”
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC “Dunkirk”
  • Rachel Morrison, ASC “Mudbound”
  • Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF “The Shape of Water”


  • Máté Herbai, HSC for On Body and Soul
  • Mikhail Krichman, RGC for Loveless
  • Mart Taniel for November


  • Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce “Pilot”
  • Serge Desrosiers, CSC for Sometimes the Good Kill
  • Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius “Chapter 1”
  • Shelly Johnson, ASC for Training Day “Apocalypse Now”
  • Christopher Probst, ASC for Mindhunter “Pilot”


  • Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle “Land O’ Smiles”
  • Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown “Smoke and Mirrors”
  • Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones“The Spoils of War”
  • Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Game of Thrones“Dragonstone”
  • Alasdair Walker for Outlander “The Battle Joined”


  • Dana Gonzales, ASC, ABC for Legion “Chapter 1”
  • David Greene, ASC, CSC for 12 Monkeys “Mother”
  • Kurt Jones for The Originals “Bag of Cobras”
  • Boris Mojsovski, CSC for 12 Monkeys “Thief”
  • Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for Gotham “The Executioner”

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) winners

The Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) winners have been announced. ROMA took Best Film, Director, …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: