Home / Awards / ‘Call Me By Your Name,’ ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ Win USC Scripter Awards

‘Call Me By Your Name,’ ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ Win USC Scripter Awards

Call Me By Your Name and The Handmaid’s Tale won the USC Scripter awards for film and television (respectively) last night. The University of Southern California’s USC Libraries Scripter honors adaptations and rewards both the script writer and the original author(s).

For Call Me By Your Name, screenwriter James Ivory and novelist Andre Aciman were awarded; for The Handmaid’s Tale the award went to Bruce Miller for his adaptation and Margaret Atwood for her original book. Ivory is also nominated for the Writers Guild award (being given out tonight – preview and predictions) and the Oscar for Adapted Screenplay. Miller won the Emmy for Drama Series writing last September.

Oscar-winning screenwriter Francis Ford Coppola (Patton, The Godfather, The Godfather Part II) received the USC Libraries’ Literary Achievement Award.

The USC Scripter award for film has been a fantastic predictor for the Adapted Screenplay Oscar with the last seven winners here in a row translating that win to an Academy Award, including last year’s Best Picture winner Moonlight.

The other nominees for film were the Oscar-nominated The Disaster Artist, Logan, Molly’s Game and Mudbound with The Lost City of Z and Wonder Woman rounding out USC. For television, the other nominees were Alias Grace, Big Little Lies, Genius, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Mindhunter.

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) winners

The Southeastern Film Critics Association (SEFCA) winners have been announced. ROMA took Best Film, Director, …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: