Home / Awards / Awkwafina and Laverne Cox to reveal 25th Screen Actors Guild (SAG) nominations

Awkwafina and Laverne Cox to reveal 25th Screen Actors Guild (SAG) nominations

Awkwafina (Crazy Rich AsiansOcean’s Eight) and Laverne Cox (Orange Is the New Black, the upcoming Bad Hair) will announce the nominees for the 25th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® on Wednesday, Dec. 12 at the Pacific Design Center in West Hollywood.

The nominations announcement will be carried live on TNT, TBS, truTV, tntdrama.com/sag-awards,truTV.com and sagawards.org at 10 a.m. (ET) / 7 a.m. (PT). The Actor® Nominations also can be viewed via TNT’s Facebook, Twitter @TNTdrama and YouTube channels and TBS’s Facebook, Twitter @tbsnetwork and YouTube channels.

SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris will introduce Awkwafina and Cox. Before that announcement, this year’s stunt ensemble action performance nominees will be announced by SAG Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams and SAG Awards Committee Member Elizabeth McLaughlin during a live webcast on tntdrama.com/sag-awards and sagawards.org at 9:50 a.m. (ET) / 6:50 a.m. (PT).

Crazy Rich Asians stands a very good chance at scoring a SAG nomination as for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture and Michelle Yeah is an outside shot for Female Actor in a Supporting Role. 

Orange Is the New Black, which just announced its next season will be its last, has won the Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series three years in a row (2015-2017) and was nominated at the last SAG awards.

The 25th Annual SAG Awards will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2018 at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT). TBS and TNT subscribers can also watch the SAG Awards live via the networks’ mobile and smart TV apps. In addition, TNT will present a special encore of the ceremony at 11 p.m. (ET) / 8 p.m. (PT).

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

‘First Man,’ ‘Mission: Impossible,’ ‘A Quiet Place,’ ‘ROMA’ lead Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) nominations

Mission: Impossible -Fallout (Courtesy of Paramount) First Man, Mission: Impossible – Fallout, A Quiet Place …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: