Home / Awards / ‘Minding the Gap’ wins three IDA Documentary awards

‘Minding the Gap’ wins three IDA Documentary awards

Bing Liu’s Minding the Gap (Hulu)

Bing Liu’s Minding the Gap bested all competition at the 34th Independent Documentary Association’s awards last night, winning three prizes: Best Feature, Editing and Emerging Filmmaker for Liu. The coming of age skateboarding doc won a Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Filmmaking at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year and is currently streaming on Hulu.

Other winners included the Netflix limited series Wild Wild Country and Bisbee ’17.

The Career Achievement Award went to Julia Reichert, a three-time Academy-Award nominee and co-founder of New Day Films. The IDA’s Courage Under Fire Award was given to director Stephen Maing and all the NYPD 12 whistleblowers of Crime + Punishment.

The complete list of winners is below:

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Feature Winner

“Minding the Gap” (Hulu/POV. Director/Producer: Bing Liu. Producer: Diane Quon)

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Cinematography Winner

Distant Constellation
Cinematographer: Shevaun Mizrahi

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Editing Winner

Minding the Gap
Editors: Bing Liu and Joshua Altman

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Music Score Winner

Bisbee ’17
Composer: Keegan DeWitt

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Writing Winner

The Other Side of Everything
Writer: Mila Turajlic

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Short Winner

“Zion” (Netflix. Director/Producer: Floyd Russ. Producer: Carter Collins)

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Series Winners

Best Curated Series Winner

POV (POV/American Documentary. Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White)

Best Episodic Series Winner

“The Trade” (Showtime. Executive Producers: Matthew Heineman and Pagan Harleman)

Best Limited Series Winner

“Wild Wild Country” (Netflix. Directors: Chapman Way and Maclain Way. Producer: Juliana Lembi. Executive Producers: Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Josh Braun and Dan Braun)

Best Short Form Series Winner

MEL Films (Executive Producer: David Freid)

Best Music Documentary Winners (tie)

“MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A.” (Abramorama. Director/Producer: Steve Loveridge. Producers: Lori Cheatle, Paul Mezey and Andrew Goldman)

Mr. SOUL! 
Director/Producer: Melissa Haizlip
Co-Director: Samuel D. Pollard

ABC News VideoSource Award


John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls
Directors/Producers: Peter Kunhardt, George Kunhardt and Teddy Kunhardt

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

2019 Cannes: ‘Invisible Life of Eurídice,’ ‘The Climb,’ ‘Joan of Arc’ among Un Certain Regard winners

Carol Duarte (left) and Júlia Stockler in The Invisible Life of Eurídice from Karim Aïnouz …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: