Home / Awards / Łukasz Żal (Cold War) wins American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) for feature film

Łukasz Żal (Cold War) wins American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) for feature film

Cold War (Amazon)

In a bit of an upset (or was it?), Łukasz Żal has won the feature film prize from the American Society of Cinematographers for his black and white lensing of Pawel Pawlikowski’s Cold War. The 33rd American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards were held Saturday night at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Żal bested his Oscar competition including Robbie Ryan (The Favourite), Matthew Libatique (A Star Is Born) and Alfonso Cuarón, who not only directed Roma but was also the film’s cinematographer – a first for him. Much has been made whether the ASC or the Oscars will chose to reward a director for shooting his own film and the ASC has spoken first.

In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC feature competition went on to win the Oscar in cinematography.

In television, Adriano Goldman picked up his second win in a row for The Crown. He won last night for the episode “Beryl,” and last year for the episode “Smoke and Mirrors.” James Friend won the Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television category for Patrick Melrose. It marked one of the few losses for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel this awards season.

Jeff Bridges accepted the org’s Board of Governors Award. Jeff Jur (Carnivale) received the Career Achievement in Television award. Arri leader Franz Kraus won the ASC Bud Stone Award, which was presented by ASC president Kees van Oostrum.

Here is the full list of nominees and winners (in bold).

Theatrical Release
Alfonso Cuarón for Roma
Matthew Libatique, ASC for A Star is Born
Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for The Favourite
Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF for First Man
Łukasz Żal, PSC for Cold War – WINNER

Spotlight Award
Joshua James Richards for The Rider
Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme
Frank van den Eeden, SBC, NSC for Girl

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle, “Jahr Null”
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown, “Beryl” – WINNER
David Klein, ASC for Homeland, “Paean to the People”
Colin Watkinson, ASC for The Handmaid’s Tale, “The Word”
Cathal Watters, ISC for Peaky Blinders, “The Company”
Zoë White, ACS for The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for Timeless, “The King of the Delta Blues”
Jon Joffin, ASC for Beyond, “Two Zero One” – WINNER
Ben Richardson for Yellowstone, “Daybreak”
David Stockton, ASC for Gotham, “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
Thomas Yatsko, ASC for Damnation, “A Different Species”

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
James Friend, BSC for Patrick Melrose, “Bad News” – WINNER
Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius: Picasso, “Chapter 1”
Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for The Terror, “Go for Broke”
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Pilot)
Brendan Steacy, CSC for Alias Grace, “Part 1”

About Erik Anderson

Erik thanks his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched the Academy Awards together since he was in the single digits; making lists, rankings and predictions throughout the show. This led him down the path to obsessing about awards. Much later, he found himself at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics), the International Press Academy and is the founder/owner of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Barry Jenkins lands Thuso Mbedu, Joel Edgerton, Aaron Pierre for ‘Underground Railroad’

(Left) Barry Jenkins, (top) Thuso Mbedu, Aaron Pierre, (bottom) Joel Edgerton, Chase W. Dillon After …

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: