Wed. Aug 12th, 2020

55th New York Film Festival Dominated by Amazon, Netflix as Mudbound, Meyerowitz Stories Join Slate

[divider style=”normal” top=”20″ bottom=”20″]

The main slate for the 55th New York Film Festival has been announced and it’s hard not to notice the domination that streamers Amazon and Netflix are having this season. For New York, all three main galas (Last Flag Flying – Opening, Wonderstruck – Centerpiece and Wonder Wheel – Closing) are from Amazon and with today’s announcement of Mudbound and The Meyerowitz Stories from Netflix, that makes a full fifth of the 25-film lineup coming from the two streaming services.

Sony Pictures Classics and A24 landed some of their prime fall releases at NYFF including Call Me By Your Name, Lady Bird and The Florida Project. The Cannes Film Festival’s two top winners, The Square (Palme winner) and BPM (Beats Per Minute)/12 battements par minute (the Grand Prize winner) also found a home in New York.

Curiously missing was Alexander Payne’s Downsizing. Payne is definitely no stranger to NYFF, in fact they absolutely love him. Every recent film from him has hit the festival so it’s an interesting omission. The Venice and Toronto-bound film is also expected to hit Telluride so it will still have a full festival slate under its belt as it enters the choppy waters of the fall awards season.

Eight of the 25 films presented this year were directed by nine women, including Mudbound (Dee Rees) and new films from Claire Denis (Bright Sunshine In/Un beau soleil intérieur) and Agnès Varda (Faces Places/Visages villages).

Keep an eye on this page for updates as NYFF will add more films and some of the surprising omissions/awards contenders (Downsizing, The Shape of Water) could pop up.

The 55th New York Film Festival runs September 28-October 15 and is presented by The Film Society of Lincoln Center.


Last Flag Flying
Dir. Richard Linklater

Dir. Todd Haynes

Wonder Wheel
Dir. Woody Allen

Before We Vanish
Dir. Kiyoshi Kurosawa

BPM (Beats Per Minute)/120 battements par minute
Dir. Robin Campillo

Bright Sunshine In/Un beau soleil intérieur
Dir. Claire Denis

Call Me by Your Name
Dir. Luca Guadagnino

The Day After
Dir. Hong Sang-soo

Faces Places/Visages villages
Dir. Agnès Varda & JR

Dir. Alain Gomis

The Florida Project
Dir. Sean Baker

Ismael’s Ghosts/Les fantômes d’Ismaël
Dir. Arnaud Desplechin

Lady Bird
Dir. Greta Gerwig

Lover for a Day/L’Amant d’un jour
Dir. Philippe Garrel

The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)
Dir. Noah Baumbach

Mrs. Hyde/Madame Hyde
Dir. Serge Bozon

Dir. Dee Rees

On the Beach at Night Alone
Dir. Hong Sang-soo

The Other Side of Hope/Toivon tuolla puolen
Dir. Aki Kaurismäki

The Rider
Dir. Chloé Zhao

Dir. Agnieszka Holland, in cooperation with Kasia Adamik

The Square
Dir. Ruben Östlund

Dir. Joachim Trier

Dir. Valeska Grisebach

Dir. Lucrecia Martel

%d bloggers like this: