Fri. Jun 5th, 2020

‘La La Land,’ ‘Moonlight,’ ‘Stranger Things’ Among 2017 American Cinema Editors (ACE) Eddie Nominations


[divider style=”solid” top=”20″ bottom=”20″]

The nominations for the American Cinema Editors ACE Eddies were announced this morning and the two major categories (Drama and Comedy) were chock full of Oscar contenders. Frontrunner La La Land was, as predicted, in Comedy (the category used to be called Comedy or Musical) although there was some argument that the modern-day musical could be put into Drama under the group’s new rules. It was joined by Deadpool, The Jungle Book, The Lobster and Hail, Caesar! There is often a strong crossover between the Golden Globe nominees in Comedy or Musical and the corresponding category at ACE but only 2/5 this year. Missing out were 20th Century Women (from three-time ACE nominee Leslie Jones), Florence Foster Jenkins and Sing Street. In Drama we’re likely looking at four of the five Oscar nominees in that category.

In Drama, we’re likely looking at four of the five Oscar nominees in that category. Science fiction, war, modern-day western, family drama and gay urban struggle represent the five films nominated here and that couldn’t be a wider swath of genres imaginable. Here’s what the Gold Rush Gang is predicting for the Film Editing Oscar right now.

In the television section, there were a slew of double and even a triple-nominee. Freshman season shows Stranger Things, This is Us and Westworld continue to perform well this awards season, holding their own against Mr. Robot, Veep, and Better Call Saul.

Blue ribbon screenings for television and documentary categories will be held on January 15th with voting ending on January 17th. The winners 67th annual ACE Eddie Awards will be announced on Friday, January 27th.

Here is the full list of 2017 ACE Eddie nominations for film and television:

Best Edited Feature Film (Drama)
“Arrival” (Joe Walker)
“Hacksaw Ridge” (John Gilbert)
“Hell or High Water” (Jake Roberts)
“Manchester by the Sea” (Jennifer Lame)
“Moonlight” (Nat Sanders, Joi McMillon)

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)
“Deadpool” (Julian Clarke)
“Hail, Caesar!” (Roderick Jaynes)
“The Jungle Book” (Mark Livolsi)
“La La Land” (Tom Cross)
“The Lobster” (Yorgos Mavropsaridis)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
“Kubo and the Two Strings” (Christopher Murrie)
“Moana” (Jeff Draheim)
“Zootopia” (Jeremy Milton, Fabienne Rawley)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)
“13th” (Spencer Averick)
“Amanda Knox” (Matthew Hamachek)
“The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years” (Paul Crowder)
“O.J.: Made in America” (Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, Ben Sozanski)
“Weiner” (Eli B. Despres)

Best Edited Documentary (Television)
“The Choice 2016” (Steve Audette)
“Everything is Copy” (Bob Eisenhart)
“We Will Rise: Michelle Obama’s Mission to Educate Girls Around the World” (Oliver Lief)

Best Edited Half-Hour Series
“Silicon Valley” — “The Uptick” (Brian Merken)
“Veep” — “Morning After” (Steven Rasch)
“Veep” — “Mother” (Shawn Paper)

Best Edited One-Hour Series – Commercial
“Better Call Saul” — “Fifi” (Skip Macdonald)
“Better Call Saul” — “Klick” (Skip Macdonald, Curtis Thurber)
“Better Call Saul” — “Nailed” (Kelley Dixon, Chris McCaleb)
“Mr. Robot” — “eps2.4m4ster-s1ave.aes” (Philip Harrison)
“This Is Us” — “Pilot” (David L. Bertman)

Best Edited One-Hour Series – Non-Commercial
“The Crown” — “Assassins” (Yan Miles)
“Game of Thrones” — “Battle of the Bastards” (Tim Porter)
“Stranger Things” — “Chapter One: The Vanishing of Will Byers” (Dean Zimmerman)
“Stranger Things” — “Chapter Seven: The Bathtub” (Kevin D. Ross)
“Westworld” — “The Original” (Stephen Semel, Marc Jozefowicz)

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture (Non-Theatrical)
“All the Way” (Carol Littleton)
“The Night Of” — “The Beach” (Jay Cassidy)
“The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story” — “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia” (Adam Penn, Stewart Schill, C. Chi-yoon Chung)

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series
“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” — “Manila” (Hunter Gross)
“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” — “Senegal” (Mustafa Bhagat)
“Deadliest Catch” — “First at Sea: Part 2” (Josh Earl, Alexander Rubinow)

%d bloggers like this: