Sat. May 30th, 2020

2015 Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) WINNERS: Mad Max Does It Again

Mad Max: Fury Road lays waste to yet another critics awards, this time the Online Film Critics Society
Mad Max: Fury Road lays waste to yet another critics awards, this time the Online Film Critics Society


Mad Max: Fury Road continues to dominate critics awards, this time taking the 19th Online Film Critics award for Best Picture along with Best Director, Film Editing and Cinematography.

Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs) picked up another critics win after his LA triumph last week and Cate Blanchett (Carol) nabs her first win of the season. A surprise win for Oscar Isaac in Ex Machina found him beating out current critics champ Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies) and Carol added to its wins today with Rooney Mara in Supporting Actress as well as Adapted Screenplay.

The FULL list of winners with nominations listed:

Best Picture

Ex Machina
Inside Out
Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER
The Martian
The Revenant

Best Animated Feature

The Good Dinosaur
Inside Out – WINNER
The Peanuts Movie
Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Film Not in the English Language

The Assassin – Taiwan – WINNER
Goodnight Mommy – Austria
Mustang – France
Phoenix – Germany
Son of Saul – Hungary

Best Documentary

Best of Enemies
Cartel Land
Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
The Look of Silence – WINNER

Best Director

Todd Haynes – Carol
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER
Ridley Scott – The Martian
Denis Villeneuve – Sicario

Best Actor

Matt Damon – The Martian
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs – WINNER
Michael B. Jordan – Creed
Ian McKellen – Mr. Holmes

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett – Carol – WINNER
Brie Larson – Room
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn
Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Supporting Actor

Benicio Del Toro – Sicario
Oscar Isaac – Ex Machina – WINNER
Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight
Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Supporting Actress

Rooney Mara – Carol – WINNER
Cynthia Nixon – James White
Kristen Stewart – Clouds of Sils Maria
Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs

Best Original Screenplay

Ex Machina – Alex Garland
Inside Out – Pete Docter, Ronnie Del Carmen, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley
Mistress America – Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach
Sicario – Taylor Sheridan
Spotlight – Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy – WINNER

Best Adapted Screenplay

Brooklyn – Nick Hornby
Carol – Phyllis Nagy – WINNER
The Martian – Drew Goddard
Room – Emma Donoghue
Steve Jobs – Aaron Sorkin

Best Editing

Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel – WINNER
The Martian – Pietro Scalia
The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
Sicario – Joe Walker
Steve Jobs – Elliot Graham

Best Cinematography

The Assassin – Mark Lee Ping Bing
Carol – Edward Lachman
Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale – WINNER
The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki
Sicario – Roger Deakins

Non-U.S. Films (Alphabetical Order):
Cemetery of Splendor
The Club
The Lobster
Mountains May Depart
Mia Madre
Right Now, Wrong Then
The Sunset Song


The OFCS is a professional association for online film journalists, historians and scholars. The organization is a volunteer group run by its membership. The mission of the society is to further the growth of an informed film audience, to promote awareness of the Internet as a source of news and commentary, to provide a forum for the OFCS members to communicate and discuss ideas about journalism and cinema, and to encourage a high standard of journalism across the online media.

%d bloggers like this: