Fri. Sep 25th, 2020

2016 European Film Awards (EFA): Toni Erdmann Makes Clean Sweep – Film, Director, Actor, Actress, Screenwriter


Germany’s Toni Erdmann was the big winner at the 2016 European Film Awards, sweeping every category it was nominated in

[divider style=”solid” top=”20″ bottom=”20″]

Toni Erdmann swept the European Film Awards today, grabbing wins from all five of its nominations so far – Maren Ade for European Screenwriter andEuroopean Director, Peter Simonischek for European Actor and Sandra Hüller for European Actress. The EFA showed no need to spread the wealth, with Hüller beating the critics’ choice across the pond, Isabelle Huppert in Elle.

Polish Małgorzata Szumowska’s Body (Cialo) won the people’s choice award. Wim Wenders, the president of the European Film Academy, paid homage to late Polish film and theater director Andrzej Wajda. In awards given last month, Land of Mine won the Carlo di Palma award for best European cinematographer. It also won for costume design (Stefanie Bieker) as well as hair and makeup (Barbara Kreuzer). It is Denmark’s entry for the Foreign Language Film Oscar. The EFA Lifetime Achievement Award went to Jean-Claude Carrière.

Here is the full list of winners (in bold) from the 29th European Film Awards as they come in.

European Film

“Elle” (Paul Verhoeven, France, Germany)
“I, Daniel Blake” (Ken Loach, U.K., France)
“Julieta” (Pedro Almodóvar, Spain)
“Room” (Lenny Abrahamson, Ireland, Canada)
“Toni Erdmann” (Maren Ade, Germany, Austria)

European Director

Paul Verhoeven (“Elle,” France, Germany)
Cristian Mungiu (“Graduation,” Romania, France, Belgium)
Ken Loach (“I, Daniel Blake,” U.K., France)
Pedro Almodóvar (“Julieta,” Spain)
Maren Ade (“Toni Erdmann,” Germany, Austria)

European Actor

Rolf Lassgård (“A Man Called Ove”)
Hugh Grant (“Florence Foster Jenkins”)
Dave Johns (“I, Daniel Blake”)
Burghart Klaußner (“The People vs. Fritz Bauer”)
Peter Simonischek, (“Toni Erdmann”)
Javier Cámara, (“Truman”)

European Actress

Isabelle Huppert (“Elle”)
Emma Suárez & Adriana Ugarte (“Julieta”)
Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (“Like Crazy”)
Trine Dyrholm (“The Commune”)
Sandra Hüller (“Toni Erdmann”)

European Screenwriter

Cristian Mungiu (“Graduation”)
Paul Laverty (“Blake”)
Emma Donoghue (“Room”)
Maren Ade (“Toni Erdmann”)
Tomasz Wasilewski (“United States of Love”)

European Documentary

“The Land Of The Enlightened” (Pieter-Jan De Pue, Belgium, Ireland, the Netherlands)
“21 X New York” (Piotr Stasik,Poland)
“Mr. Gaga” (Tomer Heymann, Israel, Sweden, Germany, the Netherlands)
“S is for Stanley – 30 Years At The Wheel For Stanley Kubrick” (Alex Infascelli, Italy)
“A Family Affair” (Tom Fassaert, the Netherlands, Belgium)
“Fire At Sea” (Gianfranco Rosi, Italy, France)

European Animated Feature

“My Life as a Zucchini” (Claude Barras, France, Switzerland)
“Psiconautas, the forgotten children” (Pedro Rivero, Alberto Vázquez, Spain)
“The Red Turtle” (Michael Dudok de Wit, Japan, France, Belgium)

European Comedy

“A Man Called Ove” (Hannes Holm, Sweden, Norway) 
“Look Who’s Back” (David Wnendt, Germany)
“La Vache” (Mohamed Hamidi, France)

Fipresci Prize – European Discovery

“Dogs” (Bogdan Mirica, France, Romania, Bulgaria, Qatar)
“Liebmann” (Jules Herrmann, Germany)
“Sand Storm” (Elite Zexer, Israel)
“The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki” (Juho Kuosmanen, Finland, Sweden, Germany)
“Thirst” (Svetla Tsotsorkova, Bulgaria)

%d bloggers like this: