Sat. Sep 19th, 2020

2017 Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) Nominations: The Shape of Water Leads with 8

The Shape of Water once again dominated a critics’ group’s nominations as the Online Film Critics Group announced theirs today and gave the film 8 nods in all, including Best Picture, Director, Actress and Supporting Actor. Lady BirdCall Me By Your Name and Get Out earned six and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri came in with five.

Phantom Thread earned top nominations in Best Picture, Director and Screenplay but was shut out of the acting categories. Daniel Day-Lewis was nominated for the group’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Mudbound‘s Rachel Morrison earned another nomination for her cinematography, making her the 4th most nominated across critics’ groups at the moment.

One shot wonders: mother! made their Best Picture lineup but then showed nowhere else. Same goes for A Ghost StoryThe Post landed a Best Ensemble nomination and that’s it. Baby Driver added another Editing nomination to its list growing wins in that category with other groups. Adapted Screenplay had two entries where that was the film’s only nomination: The Beguiled and Molly’s Game.

Their supporting actor lineup came with a truly shocking snub: While the group is the first to nominate both Armie Hammer and Michael Stuhlbarg for Call Me By Your Name, the frontrunner in this category, Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project), did not merit a nomination here. He did, however, like Day-Lewis, earn a nomination for their Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here is the full list of nominations from the Online Film Critics Society. Winners will be announced on December 28th.

Best Picture
Call Me By Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
A Ghost Story
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread
Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water

Best Actor
Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name
James Franco – The Disaster Artist
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour
Robert Pattinson – Good Time

Best Actress
Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water
Cynthia Nixon – A Quiet Passion
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor
Armie Hammer – Call Me By Your Name
Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Patrick Stewart – Logan
Michael Stuhlbarg – Call Me By Your Name

Best Supporting Actress
Mary J. Blige – Mudbound
Tiffany Haddish – Girls Trip
Holly Hunter – The Big Sick
Allison Janney – I, Tonya
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird

Best Ensemble
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Post
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Breakout Star
Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name
Tiffany Haddish – Girls Trip
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Dafne Keen – Logan
Brooklynn Prince – The Florida Project

Best Original Screenplay
Jordan Peele – Get Out
Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread
Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor – The Shape of Water
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards

Best Adapted Screenplay
Sofia Coppola – The Beguiled
James Ivory – Call Me By Your Name
Scott Nestadter and Micheal Weber – The Disaster Artist
James Gray – Lost City of Z
Aaron Sorkin – Molly’s Game

Best Editing
Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos – Baby Driver
Lee Smith – Dunkirk
Ben Safdie and Ronald Bronstein – Good Time
Tatiana S Riegel – I, Tonya
Sidney Wolinsky – The Shape of Water

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins – Blade Runner 2049
Hoyte van Hoytema – Dunkirk
Darius Khondji – Lost City of Z
Rachel Morrison – Mudbound
Dan Laustsen – The Shape of Water

Best Animated Feature
The Breadwinner
In This Corner Of The World
The LEGO Batman Movie
Loving Vincent

Best Foreign Film
BPM (Beats Per Minute)
First They Killed My Father
The Square

Best Documentary
Dawson City: Frozen Time
Ex Libris: The New York Public Library
Faces Places
The Work

Memorial Award
Jonathan Demme
John Hurt
Bill Paxton
George A. Romero
Harry Dean Stanton

Lifetime Achievement Award
Willem Dafoe
Daniel Day-Lewis
Roger Deakins
Christopher Plummer
Agnes Varda

%d bloggers like this: