Wed. Oct 21st, 2020

2019 Cannes: Claire Denis and jury announce winners of the 22nd Cinéfondation Selection

Claire Denis (5th from left) with her jury and award winners of the Cinéfondation 2019 (Photo: Deborah Neris / FDC)

The Short Films and Cinéfondation Jury headed by Claire Denis and including Stacy Martin, Eran Kolirin, Panos H. Koutras and Cătălin Mitulescu, has awarded the 2019 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films.

The Cinéfondation Selection consisted of 17 student films, chosen out of 2 000 entries coming from 366 film schools around the world.

Here is the full list of winners:

Premier Prix

directed by Louise Courvoisier 
CinéFabrique, France

Deuxième Prix

directed by Richard Van
CalArts, USA 

Troisième Prix ex aequo

directed by Wisam Al Jafari
Dar al-Kalima University College of Arts and Culture, Palestine

(The Little Soul)

directed by Barbara Rupik
PWSFTviT, Poland 
The Cinéfondation allocates a €15,000 grant for the First Prize, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third. The winner of the First Prize is also guaranteed the presentation of her first feature film at the Festival de Cannes.

The awarded films will be screened at the Cinéma du Panthéon on May 28th.
%d bloggers like this: