Wed. Aug 5th, 2020

2019 Emmys: Category placements for BET shows ‘American Soul’ and ‘Boomerang’

BET has revealed the category placements for two of its freshman shows, American Soul and Boomerang, for the 2019 Emmy Awards.

American Soul chronicles the rise of the iconic and history-making television dance show Soul Train and is executive produced by Tony Cornelius, son of the Soul Train producer Don Cornelius.

Boomerang, produced by Emmy winner Lena Waithe (the first and still only African American woman to win a writing Emmy) and Halle Berry (the first and only black woman to win the Best Actress Oscar) is a subversive, smart comedy about gender politics that picks up 25 years after the original movie that starred Eddie Murphy and Robin Givens.

Here are the category placements for American Soul and Boomerang.


Drama Series
Jesse Collins, Executive Producer
Devon Greggory, Executive Producer
Jonathan Prince, Executive Producer
Peter O’Fallon, Executive Producer
Tony Cornelius, Executive Producer
Andrew J. Horne, Co-Executive Producer
Dionne Harmon, Co-Executive Producer
Sara Finney-Johnson, Co-Executive Producer
Carl Craig, Producer
James Bigwood, Produced by
Richard Cummings Jr., Supervising Producer

Fatima Robinson

Original music and lyrics
Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds
Demonte Posey

Guest Actor in a drama series
Wayne Brady

Guest Actress in a Drama Series
Kelly Rowland

Music supervision
Ashley Neumeister

Music composition for a series
Kurt Farquhar

Lead Actor in a drama series
Sinqua Walls

Supporting Actor in a drama series
Jason Dirden

Supporting Actress in a drama series
Iantha Richardson
Kelly Price

Production design for a narrative period or fantasy program (one hour or more)
Bruton Jones, ADG, Production Designer
Michael Ward, Art Director
Natali Pope, Set Decorator

Casting for a drama series
Robi Reed
Andrea Reed Elmore
George Pierre

Period costumes
Rita McGhee, Costume Designer
Kristin Morlino, Costume Supervisor

Directing for a drama series
Peter O’Fallon
Robert Townsend
Chris Robinson
Angela Barnes Gomes
Richmond Riedel


Outstanding Comedy Series
Lena Waithe, Executive Producer
Ben Cory Jones, Executive Producer
Halle Berry, Executive Producer
Rishi Rajani, Executive Producer
David Warren, Executive Producer
Jenny Lee, Co-Executive Producer
Dime Davis, Co-Executive Producer
Alex Orr, Produced by

Writing for a comedy series
Lena Waithe
Jenny Lee

Cinematography for a single-camera series (half-hour)
Isiah Donte Lee

Cinematography for a single-camera series (half-hour)
Michelle Lawler

Contemporary costumes
Tiffany Hasbourne, Costume Designer
Mauricia Grant, Costume Supervisor

Directing for a comedy series
Dime Davis

Music supervision
Jen Malone

%d bloggers like this: