Sat. Jun 22nd, 2024

1 thought on “66th Berlinale WINNERS: Refugee doc ‘Fire at Sea’ takes the Golden Bear

  1. Very excited to finally see Fire at Sea in New York theaters, a very important film and an absolute must watch for everyone.

    “Winner of the Golden Bear at this year’s Berlinale, Gianfranco Rosi’s documentary observes Europe’s refugee crisis from Lampedusa, a Mediterranean island where hundreds of thousands of people fleeing war and poverty have landed in recent decades. Rosi chronicles the harrowing work of rescue operations alongside the daily rhythms of the island’s locals: a doctor who treats casualties and performs autopsies; a widow who spends most of her day cooking and praying; and Samuele, a feisty pre-teen from a family of fishermen for whom the comings and goings of refugees to the island is simply a peripheral fact of life. With its emphasis on the quotidian, the film reclaims an ongoing tragedy from the abstract sensationalism of media headlines.”

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In case you missed it