Sun. Dec 15th, 2019

African American Film Critics (AAFCA) announce key awards dates

The group’s top 10 films of the year and the top 10 television programs of the year on December 10, 2019

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) will hold its 11th Annual AAFCA Honors honoring outstanding achievement in film on January 22, 2020 at the Taglyan Multicultural Complex in Hollywood, it was announced today by AAFCA President and co-founder, Gil Robertson.  Awards will be handed out to winners in the following categories:

  • Best Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Actor
  • Best Actress
  • Best Supporting Actor
  • Best Supporting Actress
  • Best Breakout Performance
  • Best Animated Film
  • Best Independent Film
  • Best Foreign Film
  • Best Documentary
  • Best Song

AAFCA Award winners will be announced along with AAFCA’s annual “Top 10” list highlighting the top 10 films of the year and the top 10 television programs of the year on December 10, 2019. Deadline for screenings is December 6, 2019 and the voting deadline is Sunday, December 8, 2019.  Additional honorary awards that will be presented at the 11th Annual AAFCA Awards will be announced later this year including the AAFCA Stanley Kramer Award and the AAFCA Cinema Vanguard Award, which were presented to Quincy Jones and Jason Blum respectively at last year’s event.

Last year’s big winners were Black Panther, If Beale Street Could Talk and BlacKkKlansman, all of which went on to earn multiple Oscar nominations and wins.

Keep track of the 2018/2019 awards season key dates with the AwardsWatch Awards Calendar.

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: