Sun. Apr 5th, 2020

Australian Academy Awards (AACTA) International nominations: 'The Irishman' leads; Margot Robbie is double-nominated

The nominees for 9th AACTA International Awards have been announced, honouring the best achievements in film excellence, regardless of geography.

A total of 15 films received nominations this year with THE IRISHMAN leading the way with six nominations, followed by ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD with five nominations, then JOKER and PARASITE both receiving four nominations each. The four noteworthy films also compete for the International AACTA Award for Best Film alongside Australian film THE KING, which recently won four Awards at the 2019 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel in Sydney.

Also recognised at the Sydney-hosted AACTA Awards was Best Film nominee PARASITE, which took home the Award for Best Asian Film presented by Eureka International Group. The film’s producer Kwak Sin-ae attended the ceremony in Australia to accept the prestigious award. PARASITE is now one of the most acclaimed films of 2019 winning over 40 International Awards to date.

AACTA International Award nominees, who also received Golden Globe nominations yesterday, include Toni Collette (KNIVES OUT), Nicole Kidman (BOMBSHELL) and Margot Robbie (BOMBSHELLONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD), dominating the Best Supporting Actress category this year. This marks a first in AACTA International Awards history that Australians have received four of the five nominations within the same category. This includes another first for AACTA with Robbie’s record-breaking double nomination within the same category.

The winner of the Awards will be announced in Los Angeles at the 9th AACTA International Awards Ceremony on Friday, January 3, 2020 (PST) and Saturday, January 4, 2020 (AEDT).

Please see below for the full list of nominees:

AACTA International Award for Best Film

  • The Irishman
  • Joker
  • The King
  • Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
  • Parasite

AACTA International Award for Best Direction

  • 1917, Sam Mendes
  • The Irishman, Martin Scorsese
  • Joker, Todd Phillips
  • Once Upon A Time In Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
  • Parasite, Bong Joon Ho

AACTA International Award for Best Screenplay

  • The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
  • Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
  • Joker; Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
  • Once Upon A Time In Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
  • Parasite; Bong Joon-Ho, Jin Won Han

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor

  • Christian Bale, Ford v Ferrari
  • Antonio Banderas, Pain And Glory
  • Robert De Niro, The Irishman
  • Adam Driver, Marriage Story
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress

  • Awkwafina, The Farewell
  • Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
  • Charlize Theron, Bombshell
  • Renée Zellweger, Judy

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor

  • John Lithgow, Bombshell
  • Al Pacino, The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman
  • Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood
  • Song Kang-Ho, Parasite

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress

  • Toni Collette, Knives Out
  • Nicole Kidman, Bombshell
  • Florence Pugh, Little Women
  • Margot Robbie, Bombshell
  • Margot Robbie, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: