Mon. May 25th, 2020

Boston Society of Film Critics WINNERS: Spotlight Is Best Pic, Kristen Stewart Wins Again

Spotlight wins Boston's Best Pic
Spotlight wins Boston’s Best Pic


Probably to the surprise of no one, the Boston Society of Film Critics went with the home court advantage by giving Spotlight their Best Picture award. The film, about Boston Globe reporters who investigated and revealed a massive cover-up within the Catholic church, also scored in Screenplay and Ensemble and director Tom McCarthy earned 2nd place. He was bested by Todd Haynes for Carol.

Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies) and Kristen Stewart (Clouds of Sils Maria) continued their supporting wins today and Charlotte Rampling (45 Years) found her first Best Actress win. A pair of ties today; the first came in Animated Film (Anomalisa and Inside Out) and then in Best Actor where Paul Dano (Love & Mercy) and Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant) ended in multiple rounds in a dead heat. For Dano, this is not his first mention in a Lead category despite his being campaigned in Supporting.

Full List of 2015 Winners:

Best Picture  – Spotlight (runner-up: Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor – Paul Dano, Love & Mercy and Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant (TIE)

Best Actress – Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years (runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn)

Best Supporting Actor – Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies (runner-up: Sylvester Stallone, Creed)

Best Supporting Actress – Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria (runner-up: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina, The Danish Girl, Burnt, Testament of Youth)

Best Director – Todd Haynes, Carol (runner-up: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight)

Best ScreenplaySpotlight (runner-up: Carol)

Best CinematographyCarol (runner-up: The Revenant)

Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer) – Mad Max: Fury Road (runner-up: Spotlight)

Best DocumentaryAmy (runner-up: The Look of Silence)

Best Foreign-Language Film  (awarded in memory of Jay Carr)The Look of Silence (runner-up: White God)

Best Animated FilmAnomalisa and Inside Out (TIE) (runner-up: Shaun the Sheep Movie)

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy) – Marielle Heller for The Diary of a Teenage Girl (runner-up: Alex Garland for Ex Machina)

Best Ensemble Cast – Spotlight (runner-up: The Big Short)

Best Original Score – Love & Mercy (runner-up: Creed)

%d bloggers like this: