Sat. Sep 26th, 2020

Call Me By Your Name Tops Best Feature at Gotham Awards; Get Out Wins Director and Audience Award

Call Me By Your Name was the big winner at the 2017 Gotham Awards

Call Me Your Name has won the IFP Gotham Awards for Best Feature and Breakthrough Actor for Timothée Chalamet. 

Hosted by writer/director John Cameron Mitchell (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Rabbit Hole), whose opening monologue was a furious riff on everything from current politics to his closest Grindr match, the ribald and left of left cousin to the Independent Spirit Awards began with a Screenplay win for Jordan Peele’s incisive and intense horror/comic satire Get Out. Passing through tributes to former Vice President Al Gore, Oscar-winning director Sofia Coppola and Oscar and Emmy-winning actress and producer Nicole Kidman, the night was punctuated with less politically-infused drama than one would expect and instead concentrated heavily on “the work.” Celebrating independent film and television was the core of the evening among high profile award wins for Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird) and James Franco (The Disaster Artist) and heart-stopping speeches from Jordan Peele (Get Out) and Documentary winner Yance Ford, the evening was the first precursor to what we may see in the awards season ahead of us.

Last year, future Best Picture winner Moonlight won Best Feature here, along with Best Screenplay and the juried Ensemble award. Last year, I predicted Best Feature, Actor, Actress, Breakthrough Director and Breakthrough Series – Long Form correctly. This year, I called Best Feature, Actor, Actress, Breakthrough Actor, Documentary and both Series wins. 

Here is the full list of winners of the 29th Gotham Awards.

Best Feature
Call Me By Your Name

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Screenplay
Get Out, Jordan Peele

Best Actor
James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Best Actress
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance (previously announced)
Mudbound, presented to Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks.

Breakthrough Actor
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

IFP Audience Award
Get Out

Best Documentary
Strong Island

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes

%d bloggers like this: