Tue. Apr 7th, 2020

Chicago Independent Critics Circle Winners: Get Out, Lady Bird and Logan

The 26 film critics and voting members of the Chicago Independent Film Critics Circle completed their final ballots in 21 categories for their second annual CIFCC Awards. Leading all films with four awards is Get Out from Universal Pictures and Blumhouse Productions, including three awards for Jordan Peele and his many hats. A24’s Lady Bird from director Greta Gerwig follows with three wins, including Best Independent Film. Fifteen different films were award winners.

In two special award categories, the Trailblazer Award honoring the work of an artist who truly pushed the boundaries of the medium in terms of form and content was won by Jordan Peele for his work on Get Out. The Impact Award celebrating a person whose work has had a positive impact on society was given to Patty Jenkins and her efforts leading Wonder Woman.

The complete list of the winners of the 2017 CIFCC Awards:

BEST INDEPENDENT FILM Lady Bird – Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, and Evelyn O’Neil (producers)

BEST STUDIO FILM Logan – Hutch Parker, Simon Kinberg, and Lauren Schuler Donner (producers)

BEST FOREIGN FILM Raw – Jean de Forêts (producer)

BEST DOCUMENTARY Faces Places – JR and Agnes Varda (co-directors)

BEST ANIMATED FILM Coco – Darla K. Anderson (producer)

BEST DIRECTOR Jordan Peele, Get Out


BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY The Disaster Artist – Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber

BEST ACTOR Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out and Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour (TIE)

BEST ACTRESS Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS Allison Janney – I, Tonya and Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird (TIE)

BEST ENSEMBLE CAST Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Abbie Cornish, Peter Dinklage, Woody Harrelson, John Hawkes, Željko Ivanek, Lucas Hedges, Caleb Landry Jones, Frances McDormand,, Sam Rockwell, and Samara Weaving

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner

BEST COSTUME DESIGN AND MAKEUP Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges (costumes), Paul Engelen (makeup)

BEST EDITING Baby Driver – Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS War for the Planet of the Apes – Joe Leterri, Dan Lemmon, Eric Winquist, and Dan Cervin

TRAILBLAZER AWARD Jordan Peele – Get Out

IMPACT AWARD Patty Jenkins – Wonder Woman

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: