Tue. Sep 22nd, 2020

Chinonye Chukwu’s ‘Clemency’ to stream for free across multiple platforms through July 31

Actor Alfre Woodard joins writer/activist/co-founder of the Black Lives Matter Global movement Patrisse Cullors in a virtual conversation Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Beginning today through Friday, July 31st, NEON has made the critically acclaimed film Clemency available to stream for free on Apple TV, Amazon and FandagoNow, Redbox On Demand, Spectrum, Xfinity, Verizon FIOS, Dish, Cox and Altice. Clemency is also currently streaming on Hulu. 

Actor Alfre Woodard will join writer/activist/co-founder of the Black Lives Matter Global movement Patrisse Cullors in a virtual conversation using Clemency as a framework for a discussion on race, criminal (in)justice and incarceration. This special conversation will be hosted by SAG and open to the public on Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 1:00 PM PT/ 4:00 PM ET.  Free RSVP here

The Vera Institute for Justice will host a virtual screening of Clemency on Friday, July 17 at 6:00 PM ET followed by a virtual fireside chat with actor Aldis Hodge and experts from Vera.  To accommodate West Coast viewers, the conversation will be followed by a second screening of the film, at 6:00 PM PT(9:00 PM ET). Free RSVP here

Released theatrically December 2019, Clemency won the 2019 Sundance Film Festival U.S. Dramatic Grand Jury Prize. Directed by Chinonye Chukwu, Alfre Woodard plays a prison warden whose worn down by years of carrying out death-row executions. As she prepares to execute another inmate, she must confront the psychological and emotional demons her job creates, ultimately connecting her to the man she is sanctioned to kill.

%d bloggers like this: