Sat. Jul 11th, 2020

Columbus Film Critics Association (CFCA) winners: ‘Beale Street,’ Ben Foster, ‘Shoplifters’ and more

If Beale Street Could Talk

The Columbus Film Critics Association (formerly known as the Central Ohio Film Critics Association) has announced their winners for the best of 2018 and If Beale Street Could Talk has won Best Film, Supporting Actress (Regina King) and Score (Nicholas Britell). Impressively, the top prize came without its director, Barry Jenkins, nominated for Best Director. That was won by Alfonso Cuarón for ROMA.

Ben Foster won his first Best Actor critics’ prize of the season for Leave No Trace, Brian Tyree Henry won for his body of work in 2018 that includes Hotel Artemis, If Beale Street Could Talk, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse and Widows and Olivia Colman won Best Actress for The Favourite.

Shirkers was named Best Documentary, Shoplifters is their Best Foreign Language Film and Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse was named Best Animated Film.

Here is the full list of winners and runners-up.

Best Film
1. If Beale Street Could Talk
2. BlacKkKlansman
3. The Favourite
4. Eighth Grade
6. Black Panther
7. Widows
8. A Quiet Place
9. First Man
10. Hereditary
11. A Star Is Born

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, ROMA – WINNER
Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman – RUNNER-UP

Best Actor
Ben Foster, Leave No Trace – WINNER
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed – RUNNER-UP

Best Actress
Olivia Colman, The Favourite – WINNER
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade – RUNNER-UP
Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me? – RUNNER-UP

Best Supporting Actor
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? – WINNER
Michael B. Jordan, Black Panther – RUNNER-UP

Best Supporting Actress
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk – WINNER
Emma Stone, The Favourite – RUNNER-UP

Best Ensemble
The Favourite – WINNER
Widows – RUNNER-UP

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
Brian Tyree Henry (Hotel Artemis, If Beale Street Could Talk, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,
and Widows) – WINNER
Emily Blunt (Mary Poppins Returns, A Quiet Place, and Sherlock Gnomes) – RUNNER-UP

Breakthrough Film Artist
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade – (for directing and screenwriting) – WINNER
Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You – (for directing and screenwriting) – RUNNER-UP

Best Cinematography
Alfonso Cuarón, ROMA – WINNER
Linus Sandgren, First Man – RUNNER-UP

Best Film Editing
Joe Walker, Widows – WINNER
Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough, Roma – RUNNER-UP
Yorgos Mavropsaridis, The Favourite – RUNNER-UP

Best Adapted Screenplay
Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Wilmott & Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman – WINNER
Phil Lord & Rodney Rothman, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – RUNNER-UP
Oh Jung-mi & Lee Chang-dong, Burning (Beoning) – RUNNER-UP

Best Original Screenplay
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade – WINNER
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, The Favourite – RUNNER-UP

Best Score
Nicholas Britell, If Beale Street Could Talk – WINNER
Anna Meredith, Eighth Grade – RUNNER-UP

Best Documentary
Shirkers – WINNER
Free Solo – RUNNER-UP

Best Foreign Language Film
Shoplifters (Manbiki kazoku) – WINNER
Burning (Beoning) – RUNNER-UP

Best Animated Film
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – WINNER
Incredibles 2 – RUNNER-UP

Best Overlooked Film
Private Life – WINNER
Leave No Trace – RUNNER-UP

%d bloggers like this: