Sat. Jul 11th, 2020

Costume Designers Guild (CDG) winners: ‘The Shape of Water,’ ‘Wonder Woman’ and ‘I, Tonya’ dress to impress

The Shape of Water, Wonder Woman and I, Tonya were the top choices from the 20th Costume Designers Guild awards on Tuesday night, winning the Period, Sci-Fi/Fantasy and Contemporary film categories, respectively. The event was hosted by Jane the Virgin’s Gina Rodriguez.

The Shape of Water defeated fellow Oscar nominee Phantom Thread and Wonder Woman beat out Oscar nominee Beauty and the Beast. The Shape of Water, Beauty and the Beast and Phantom Thread will next do battle at the Academy Awards with Darkest Hour and Victoria and Abdul.

In Television, The Crown and Game of Thrones were among the winners. Among special honors, Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water) was on hand to receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award and Scandal’s Kerry Washington received the Lacoste Spotlight award.

Mark Hamill honored John Mollo, the Oscar-winning costume designer behind the original Star Wars trilogy and Gandhi, who was posthumously inducted into the Costume Designers Guild Hall of Fame.

Here is the full list of nominees and winners (in bold) for Film, Television and Short Form Design.

Excellence in Period Film

Dunkirk – Jeffrey Kurland
Murder on the Orient Express – Alexandra Byrne
Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges
The Greatest Showman – Ellen Mirojnick
The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira – WINNER

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film

Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran
Blade Runner 2049 – Renée April
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Michael Kaplan
Thor: Ragnarok – Mayes C. Rubeo
Wonder Woman – Lindy Hemming – WINNER

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Get Out – Nadine Haders
I, Tonya – Jennifer Johnson – WINNER
Kingsman: The Golden Circle – Arianne Phillips
Lady Bird – April Napier
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Melissa Toth



Excellence in Contemporary Television

American Horror Story: Cult – Sarah Evelyn Bram
Big Little Lies – Alix Friedberg
Grace and Frankie – Allyson B. Fanger
The Handmaid’s Tale – Ane Crabtree – WINNER
The Young Pope – Luca Canfora, Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Period Television

The Crown – Jane Petrie – WINNER
Feud: Bette and Joan – Lou Eyrich
Glow – Beth Morgan
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Donna Zakowska
Stranger Things – Kim Wilcox

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television

Black Mirror: “USS Callister” – Maja Meschede
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton – WINNER
Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro, Dan Lester
Sleepy Hollow – Mairi Chisholm
Star Trek: Discovery – Gersha Phillips

Excellence in Short Form Design

Assassin’s Creed: “I Am”, Commercial – Patrik Milani
Elton John, featuring Marilyn Manson: “Tiny Dancer”, Music Video – Sara Sensoy, Dawn Ritz
Katy Perry: “Chained to the Rhythm”, Music Video – B. Ăkerlund
Miu Miu Women’s Tales #14: The End of History Illusion, Short Film – Mindy Le Brock
P!NK: “Beautiful Trauma”, Music Video – Kim Bowen – WINNER

Career Achievement Award
Joanna Johnson

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Guillermo del Toro

Distinguished Service Award
Maggie Schpak

Lacoste Spotlight Award
Kerry Washington

%d bloggers like this: