Sat. Aug 15th, 2020

International Press Academy (IPA) Satellite Awards: ‘Ford v Ferrari’ races to the top with 5 wins

The International Press Academy (IPA) today announced the top choices for the 24th Annual Satellite Awards. FORD V FERRARI topped the list with 5 wins. In the major categories, the James Mangold-directed motor sport film garnered Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor for Christian Bale, Best Film Editing, as well as Best Sound Mixing & Editing.

Noah Baumbach’s MARRIAGE STORY tied with JOKER and ROCKETMAN with three wins each. MARRIAGE STORY received Best Actress for Scarlett Johansson and Best Original Screenplay for Baumbach. Notable TV Category wins, include Michelle Williams for FX’s Fosse/Verdon; Jared Harris for HBO’s Chernobyl, which also topped Miniseries & Limited Series. Breakout series Succession (HBO) won the Ensemble Award, as well as TV Series Drama. Fleabag, from Amazon, cleaned up with three awards.

IPA’s Humanitarian Award for 2019 goes to Mounia Meddour, the director of PAPICHA from Algeria. “This is a debut piece of filmmaking from a powerful new artist,” noted Mirjana Van Blaricom, IPA President.

“We’ve also introduced a Stunt Performance Award, recognizing these modern-day gladiators. This has been in the works for a while. Since I met Chuck Aaron, known as a ‘living legend of aviation,’ and stunt veteran Steve Stafford, it became very personal for me, knowing these performers put their lives at stake. Our first honoree is Steve Stafford, a former Marine, whose titles include Producer, Director, and Actor.”

The International Press Academy selects nominees from domestic and international submissions for 35 categories, 22 Motion Picture and 13 Television. Nominations are derived from advance screenings, film festivals worldwide (i.e.; BAFTA, Cannes, Sundance, Telluride, TIFF), as well as consideration screeners for individual journalists, industry professionals, and/or sanctioned links. The Mary Pickford Award and the Tesla Award recipients will be announced on Jan. 21, 2020.

Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story

Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama
Christian Bale – Ford v Ferrari

Actress in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Awkwafina – The Farewell

Actor in Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Taron Egerton – Rocketman

Actress in a Supporting Role
Jennifer Lopez –  Hustlers

Actor in a Supporting Role
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse

Motion Picture, Drama
Ford v Ferrari – Twentieth Century Fox

Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Columbia Pictures

Motion Picture, International
Estonia – Truth and Justice

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media
The Lion King – Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Motion Picture, Documentary
63 Up – BritBox

James Mangold – Ford v Ferrari

Screenplay, Original
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach

Screenplay, Adapted
Joker – Todd Phillips & Scott Silver

Original Score
Joker – Hildur Guonadottir

Original Song
Rocketman – “I’m Gonna Love Me Again”

1917 – Roger Deakins

Visual Effects
Alita: Battle Angel – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon

Film Editing
Ford v Ferrari – Michael McCusker, ACE & Andrew Buckland

Sound (Editing and Mixing)
Ford v Ferrari – Donald Sylvester, Paul Massey, David Giammarco, Steven A. Morrow, CAS

Art Direction and Production Design
Motherless Brooklyn – Beth Mickle, Michael Ahern

Costume Design
Dolemite Is My Name – Ruth E. Carter

You can read the full list of Television winners at the International Press Academy website.

%d bloggers like this: