Tue. Oct 20th, 2020

Debra Granik, Steven Yeun, ‘ROMA’ are Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) winners

Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)

After a heated battle, Alfonso Cuarón’s ROMA is the best film of 2018, according to the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA). Lee-Chang Dong’s Burning was the group’s runner-up and in fact, three of the top five contender for Best Picture were foreign language films. Burning then tied with Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Shoplifters as Best Foreign Language Film.

Debra Granik (Leave No Trace) became the first female Best Director winner from a major critics’ group this season and Ben Foster was the org’s Best Actor runner-up (to Ethan Hawke, of course) by a razor-thin margin, according to member Jon Frosch. 

Another heated battle, one that took nearly an hour for the group to decide upon was Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress – namely some category placement decisions involving Olivia Colman (The Favourite) and Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie (Leave No Trace). In the end Colman won Best Actress with Toni Collette (Hereditary) as runner-up. McKenzie did not end up placing in Lead or Supporting Actress.

Minding the Gap, the skateboarding doc from Bing Liu, was a surprise win in Best Film Editing.

B. Barton-Shaw was the recipient of the 2018 LAFCA Ruth Batchelor Scholarship. Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson and Guy Maddin were the winners of the Douglas Edwards award Independent/Experimental Film/Video for The Green Fog and Chloé Zhao (The Rider) was the New Generation Award winner.

Hayao Miyazaki was the previously announced Career Achievement recipient.

Here is the full list of winners and runners-up.


Best Picture – ROMA
Runner up: Burning

Best Director – Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)
Runner up: Alfonso Cuarón (ROMA)

Best Actor – Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)
Runner up: Ben Foster (Leave No Trace)

Best Actress – Olivia Colman (The Favourite)
Runner up: Toni Collette (Hereditary)

Steven Yeun in Burning

Best Supporting Actor – Steven Yeun (Burning)
Runner up: Hugh Grant (Paddington 2)

Best Supporting Actress – Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Runner up: Elizabeth Debicki (Widows)

Best Screenplay – Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
Runner up: Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Best Production Design – Hannah Beachler (Black Panther)
Runner up: Fiona Crombie (The Favourite)

Minding the Gap

Best Editing –  Joshua Altman and Bing Liu (Minding the Gap)
Runner up: Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough (ROMA)

Best Cinematography – Alfonso Cuarón (ROMA)
Runner up: James Laxton (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Best Music Score – Nicholas Britell (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Runner up: Justin Hurwitz (First Man)

Best Foreign Language Film – Burning and Shoplifters (tie)

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film – Shirkers
Runner up: Minding the Gap

Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse

Best Animation – Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse
Runner up: Incredibles 2

New Generation – Chloé Zhao (The Rider)

Special CitationThe Other Side of the Wind

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video – Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson and Guy Maddin (The Green Fog)

Career Achievement (previously announced) – Hayao Miyazaki

%d bloggers like this: