Mon. Oct 26th, 2020

Mad Max, The Danish Girl, Beasts of No Nation win Costume Designers Guild Awards

Mad Max: Fury Road, The Danish Girl and Beasts of No Nation win Costume Designers Guild awards for Film


The 18th Costume Designers Guild awards, hosted by Betsy Brandt (Breaking Bad, Masters of Sex) were handed out last night in feature film, television and commercial categories and Mad Max: Fury Road, The Danish Girl and Beasts of No Nation bested their competition in their categories.

Two of those winners, The Danish Girl and Mad Max: Fury Road, both Oscar nominated in Costume Design, won against films that are also Oscar nominated (Carol and Cinderella, respectively). This boosts each of their chances some but the CDG has only aligned with Oscar 50% of the time.

In television, American Horror Story: Hotel won Contemporary Series and The Knick won for Period. A brand new category this year, Fantasy, went to Game of Thrones.

Quentin Tarantino received the costume designers’ Distinguished Collaborator Award and Cate Blanchett, who starred in this year’s CDG Award nominees Carol and Cinderella, received the group’s Lacoste Spotlight Award. The Career Achievement Award went to Ellen Mirojnick, who also won a competitive award last night for The Knick.

List of winners and nominees below.


Excellence in Contemporary Film
Beasts of No Nation – Jenny Eagan – WINNER
Joy – Michael Wilkinson
Kingsman: The Secret Service – Arianne Phillips
The Martian – Janty Yates
Youth – Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Period Film
Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux
Carol – Sandy Powell
Crimson Peak – Kate Hawley
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado – WINNER
Trumbo – Daniel Orlandi

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
Ex Machina – Sammy Sheldon Differ
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2 – Kurt and Bart
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan – WINNER
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Michael Kaplan


Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
American Horror Story: Hotel – Lou Eyrich – WINNER
Empire, Season 1 – Rita McGhee
House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris
Ray Donovan – Christopher Lawrence
Transparent – Marie Schley

Outstanding Period Television Series
The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick – WINNER
Mad Men – Janie Bryant, Tiffany White Stanton
Masters of Sex – Isis Mussenden
Outlander – Terry Dresbach
Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton – WINNER
Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro
Sleepy Hollow, Season 2 – Kristin M. Burke, Mairi Chisholm
Sleepy Hollow, Season 3 – Mairi Chisholm
The Wiz Live! – Paul Tazewell

Excellence in Short Form Design
And So It Begins, Old Spice Commercial – Mindy Le Brock
From the Makers of Happy & Merry, H&M Presents Katy Perry Commercial – B. Åkerlund
The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth – Dance Battle, Video Game, Kaboom/Warner Interactive
Commercial – Soyon An
Kevin Spacey, E-Trade Commercial – Johanna Argan
Most Interesting Man in the World Wins on Land, Sea & Air, Dos Equis Commercial – Julie Vogel – WINNER

%d bloggers like this: