Wed. Feb 26th, 2020

North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA) winners: ‘Parasite,’ Lupita Nyong’o, Florence Pugh and more

Parasite was the big winner from the North Carolina Film Critics Association (NCFCA) award winners today, taking Best Film, Best Director (Bong Joon Ho), Best Original Screenplay (Bong and Han Jin-wan) and Foreign Language Film.

Continuing their healthy awards run, Adam Driver (Marriage Story) and Lupita Nyong’o (Us) were the lead acting winners; Florence Pugh (Little Women) and Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood) were the supporting choices.

The NCFCA consists of forty-six professional critics who live in the state or whose work contributes to an outlet based in North Carolina. More information about the NCFCA and lists of past nominees and winners can be found at

Here is the full list of nominees and winners.

Best Film
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Parasite – WINNER

Best Director
Bong Joon Ho — Parasite – WINNER
Sam Mendes — 1917
Martin Scorsese — The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Taika Waititi — Jojo Rabbit

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Leonardo DiCaprio — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Adam Driver — Marriage Story – WINNER
Eddie Murphy — Dolemite is My Name
Joaquin Phoenix — Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Awkwafina — The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson — Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o — Us – WINNER
Saoirse Ronan — Little Women
Charlize Theron — Bombshell
Renée Zellweger — Judy

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Laura Dern — Marriage Story
Jennifer Lopez — Hustlers
Florence Pugh — Little Women – WINNER
Margot Robbie — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Zhao Shuzhen — The Farewell

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Willem Dafoe — The Lighthouse
Tom Hanks — A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Shia LaBeouf — Honey Boy
Joe Pesci — The Irishman
Brad Pitt — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – WINNER

Best Original Screenplay
Noah Baumbach — Marriage Story
Bong Joon Ho; Han Jin-won — Parasite – WINNER
Rian Johnson — Knives Out
Quentin Tarantino — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Lulu Wang — The Farewell

Best Adapted Screenplay
Micah Fitzerman Blue; Noah Hapster — A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Greta Gerwig — Little Women – WINNER
Anthony McCarten — The Two Popes
Taika Waititi — Jojo Rabbit
Steven Zaillian — The Irishman

Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke — The Lighthouse
Roger Deakins — 1917 – WINNER
Kyung-pyo Hong — Parasite
Hoyte van Hoytema — Ad Astra
Robert Richardson — Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Use of Music
Jojo Rabbit
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – WINNER

Best Use of Special Effects
Ad Astra
Avengers: Endgame – WINNER
The Irishman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best Foreign Language Film
The Farewell
Parasite – WINNER
Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Documentary Film
American Factory
Apollo 11 – WINNER
Hail Satan?
Knock Down the House
One Child Nation

Best Animated Film
Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part
Missing Link
Toy Story 4 – WINNER

The Ken Hanke Memorial Tar Heel Award
Best of Enemies – Durham, NC
Jonathan Majors (formerly from UNC School of the Arts) – The Last Black Man in San Francisco
Tyler Nilson & Michael Schwatrz — The Peanut Butter Falcon – WINNER
Joshua Overbay – Luke & Jo


Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: