Fri. Oct 30th, 2020

‘Once Upon a Time…’ leads Hollywood Critics Association nominations


Quentin Tarantino’s 9th film earned 11 nominations, followed by The Irishman and Waves with 9; Booksmart, Joker, The Farewell and 1917 with 7

The Hollywood Critics Association (formerly known as the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society) have announced their nominations and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood grabbed 11 nominations spread across nearly two dozen categories, including Young Actor/Actress plus separate places for Horror, Action, Comedy and more.

Alma Ha’rel’s Honey Boy and Olivia Wilde’s Booksmart landed nominations in both Best First Feature and Best Independent Film. The group also separates their director categories between male and female directors, where both Ha’rel and Wilde showed up, along with Greta Gerwig (Little Women), Lorene Scafaria (Hustlers) and Lulu Wang (The Farewell).

Although it was previously announced that Kelvin Harrison Jr. would be receiving a special breakthrough award from the org, he was also nominated in the group’s Breakthrough Performance category with his co-star Taylor Russell for Waves.

A wave of snubs came in with some late-breaking films like Greta Gerwig’s Little Women, which found just three mentions and Bombshell showed up for Charlize Theron in Best Actress only. While The Irishman was nominated nine times, Al Pacino was snubbed in favor of his co-star Joe Pesci and Robert De Niro missed out on Best Actor while picking up a Best Animated or VFX Performance. There was no love for The Lighthouse of Uncut Gems today and even Tarantino got snubbed in Original Screenplay.

“The creation and goal of this organization has always been about celebrating film while embracing diversity and elevating underrepresented voices. We believe that our mission is universal, and this is why we changed our name to be reflective of that. As we continue to push for change, we want to be part of the solution, which means slowly building a community of passionate critics who are reflective of the USA and the world as a whole,” states HCA’s Chairman, Scott Menzel.

UPDATE: The Hollywood Critics Association announced today three awards that will be presented at the HCA awards ceremony. They are as follows:

The HCA Star on the Rise recipient is Taylor Russell (Waves).

The HCA Newcomer Award Recipient will be Peanut Butter Falcon star Zack Gottsagen.

The HCA Game Changer Award will be presented to Paul Walter Hauser for his career-defining performance as Richard Jewell.

The 3rd Annual Hollywood Critic Awards will be held at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles on January 9th, 2020. Here is the full list of nominations.

Best Picture

The Farewell
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Best Actor

Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Eddie Murphy, Dolemite is My Name
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Best Actress

Awkwafina, The Farewell
Charlize Theron, Bombshell
Lupita Nyong’o, Us
Renée Zellweger, Judy
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Best Supporting Actor

Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Shia LaBeouf, Honey Boy
Sterling K. Brown, Waves
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Margot Robbie, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Taylor Russell, Waves
Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best Adapted Screenplay

Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit
Steven Zaillian, The Irishman
Anthony McCarten, The Two Popes
Scott Silver and Todd Phillips, Joker
Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers

Best Original Screenplay

Bong Joon-ho & Han Jin-won, Parasite
Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, & Katie Silberman, Booksmart
Lulu Wang, The Farewell
Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Best Male Director

Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

Best Female Director

Alma Har’el, Honey Boy
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers
Lulu Wang, The Farewell
Olivia Wilde, Booksmart

Best Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 and Under

Kaitlyn Dever, Booksmart
Julia Butters, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Noah Jupe, Honey Boy
Roman Griffin Davis, Jojo Rabbit
Thomasin McKenzie, Jojo Rabbit

Breakthrough Performance

Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose
Kelvin Harrison Jr, Waves
Paul Walter Hauser, Richard Jewell
Taylor Russell, Waves
Zack Gottsagen, The Peanut Butter Falcon

Best Cast

Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman
Knives Out
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Best First Feature

Brittany Runs A Marathon
Honey Boy
The Peanut Butter Falcon
Queen & Slim

Best Independent Film

The Farewell
Honey Boy

Best Action/War Film

Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw
John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum

Best Animated Film

Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Blockbuster

Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Spider-Man: Far From Home

Best Comedy/Musical

Blinded by The Light
Dolemite is My Name
Long Shot

Best Documentary

American Factory
Apollo 11
Hail Satan?
The Kingmaker
Love, Antosha

Best Foreign Language Film

The Farewell (US/China)
Monos (Colombia)
Pain and Glory (Spain)
Parasite (South Korea)
Portrait of a Lady on Fire (France)

Best Horror Film

Doctor Sleep
Ready or Not

Best Animated or VFX Performance

Josh Brolin, Avengers: Endgame
Robert De Niro, The Irishman
Rosa Salazar, Alita: Battle Angel
Ryan Reynolds, Pokemon Detective Pikachu
Tom Hanks, Toy Story 4

Best Cinematography

Drew Daniel, Waves
Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse
Lawrence Sher, Joker
Robert Richardson, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Roger Deakins, 1917

Best Costume Design

Arianne Phillips, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Julian Day, Rocketman
Jacqueline Durran, Little Women
Ruth E Carter, Dolemite is My Name
Mark Bridges, Joker

Best Editing

Fred Raskin, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Lee Smith, 1917
Michael McCusker, Ford V. Ferrari
Thelma Schoonmaker, The Irishman
Yang Jin-mo, Parasite

Best Hair and Makeup

The Irishman

Best Original Song

“Catchy Song,” The Lego Movie: The Second Part
“Glasgow,” Wild Rose
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” Rocketman
“Into The Unknown,” Frozen 2
“Speechless,” Aladdin

Best Score

Alexandre Desplat, Little Women
Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker
Michael Abels, Us
Thomas Newman, 1917
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Waves

Best Stunt Work

Avengers: Endgame
Captain Marvel
Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw
John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum

Best Visual Effects

Ad Astra
Avengers: Endgame
Alita: Battle Angel
The Irishman

About the Hollywood Critics Association

Hollywood is the home of the film industry and a diverse population of millions of residents. In 2016, the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society was created to acknowledge the importance of online critics as well as to encourage, support, and promote underrepresented voices. Since its inception, the LAOFCS has become a respected presence in “the industry,” with its annual awards ceremony being praised by members, celebrities, and other guests. In 2019, the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society will become the Hollywood Critics Association to expand their mission of celebrating film while elevating diverse voices in criticism from all across the USA.

%d bloggers like this: