Fri. Aug 7th, 2020

Oscars: Marvin Levy, Lalo Schifrin, Cicely Tyson honored at the 10th Annual Governors Awards

Honorary Award recipient Cicely Tyson accepts the award at the 2018 Governors Awards in The Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood, CA, on Sunday, November 18, 2018.(credit: Michael Yada / ©A.M.P.A.S.)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences hosted its 10th annual Governors Awards which honored publicist Marvin Levy, composer Lalo Schifrin and actress Cicely Tyson, and the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall.

Stars were on hand to introduce and celebrate the recipients including Tom Hanks and Laura Dern for Marvin Levy; Kathy Bates and Clint Eastwood for Lalo Schifrin; Tyler Perry, Quincy Jones and Ava DuVernay for Cicely Tyson and Matt Damon and Steven Spielberg for Frank Marshall and Kathleen Kennedy. 

Academy President John Bailey opened the event referencing the early days of the awards, when Warner Bros received an honorary award for producing The Jazz Singer at the very first Oscars. Bailey also referenced the changes to the Oscars in recent years. Without mentioning it directly, that included the recent failed attempt to create a ‘Popular Film’ Oscar which he commented, “Some have been readily embraced, some have been challenged.” He continued, “This is because the Academy is, and always will be, a dynamic organization.”

Watch the clips below of Marvin Levy, Lalo Schifrin, Cicely Tyson, Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall receiving their honors and find their introductions on the Oscars 2018 Governors Awards YouTube page. 

%d bloggers like this: