Wed. Oct 21st, 2020
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Focus Features)

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) has announced seven finalists for the PGA award for Documentary Feature today. 

They are:

The Dawn Wall
Free Solo
Into the Okavango
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

With the previously announced nominations by Cinema Eye Honors and Independent Documentary Association only one film has landed on all three lists: Won’t You Be My Neighbor? The Morgan Neville-directed doc also won the Critics’ Choice Award for Best Documentary last week. 

Last year’s winner here, Jane, was not Oscar-nominated. One film on the PGA list, Into the Okavango, is not on the official Oscar submission list. 

Nominations for the final five here and in the feature film and television categories for the PGA will be announced on January 4, 2019 and the 2019 Producers Guild Awards will take place on January 19, 2019 at The Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles where the final winners will be announced.

%d bloggers like this: