Tue. Oct 27th, 2020

San Francisco Film Critics Circle (SFFCC): ‘ROMA’ Best Picture; Melissa McCarthy, Michael B. Jordan grab acting prizes

Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira in Alfonso Cuarón’s ROMA (image courtesy of Netflix)

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle have chosen ROMA as the best film of 2018, Spike Lee as Best Director for BlacKkKlansman, Melissa McCarthy as Best Actress for Can You Ever Forgive Me? and Michael B. Jordan as Best Supporting Actor for Black Panther

The Favourite went into today as the nomination leader with 9 yet amazingly, lost every battle.

Ethan Hawke (First Reformed) and Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) continued their domination with wins again today in Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress, respectively.

A surprise came in Best Film Editing as the decades long road to bring Orson Welles’ last film to light, The Other Side of the Wind, earned Oscar-winning editor Bob Murawski and the late Welles a win there.

Oakland native Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You) was given the Marlin Riggs award for courage and vision in the Bay Area community

See the full list of noms here. Read the full list of winners below.

Best Picture: ROMA

Best Director: Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)

Best Actress: Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Best Supporting Actor: Michael B. Jordan (Black Panther)

Best Supporting Actress: Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Best Original Screenplay: Paul Schrader (First Reformed)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Charlie Watchel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott and Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)

Best Film Editing: Bob Murawski and Orson Welles (The Other Side of the Wind)

Best Cinematography: Alfonso Cuarón (ROMA)

Best Production Design: Hannah Bleacher (Black Panther)

Best Foreign Language Film: ROMA

Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse

Best Documentary: Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Marlin Riggs Award (for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community): Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You)

Special Citation Award (for and under-appreciated independent film): The Endless – a genre-bending story of emotionally estranged brothers starring and directed by Justin Benson and Aaron Moorhead

%d bloggers like this: