Fri. Jul 3rd, 2020

Venice Film Festival Winners: ‘ROMA,’ Olivia Colman, Willem Dafoe – The Full List

Alfonso Cuarón’s ROMA has won the Golden Lion from the Venice Film Festival, the second year in a row the top prize has gone to a film from a Mexican director. Last year’s winner, The Shape of Water, was directed by Guillermo del Toro who went on to win Best Picture and Best Director at the Oscars. del Toro was also the president of the jury of this year’s festival. 

(Photo by Kirsty Wigglesworth/AP/REX/Shutterstock) Director Alfonso Cuaron holds the Golden Lion Best Film award for ‘Roma’ at the closing ceremony of the 75th edition of the Venice Film Festival in Venice, Italy Film Festival 2018 Awards Ceremony, Venice, Italy – 08 Sep 2018

Yorgos Lanthimos took home the Grand Jury Prize for The Favourite. Every Lanthimos film has played a major film festival and won a top prize in the process, just not the top prize.

Olivia Colman won Best Actress for her role as Queen Anne in The Favourite, which will surely muddy the waters of awards category placement for her and co-stars Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz. 

Willem Dafoe won Best Actor for playing Vincent van Gogh in Julian Schnabel’s At Eternity’s Gate. This marked Dafoe’s first-ever win from a major film festival. 

The Coen Brothers took home the screenplay prize for their TV series turned film The Ballad of Buster Scruggs

Jennifer Kent, the only female director in competition, won a Special Jury Prize for The Nightingale

The full list of winners of the 75th Venice Film Festival:


Golden Lion: “Roma,” Alfonso Cuaron, U.S. Mexico

Grand Jury Prize: “The Favourite,” Yorgos Lanthimos, Greece, U.K.

Silver Lion for Best Director: Jacques Audiard, “The Sisters Brothers,” U.S.

Volpi Cup for Best Actress: Olivia Colman, “The Favourite,” Greece, U.K.

Volpi Cup for Best Actor: Willem Dafoe, “At Eternity’s Gate,” U.S.

Best Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs,” U.S.

Special Jury Prize: “The Nightingale” Jennifer Kent, Australia

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Young Performer: Baykali Ganambarr “The Nightingale,” Australia


Best Film: “Manta Ray,” Phuttiphong Aroonpheng, Thailand

Best Director: Emir Baigazin, Emir Baigazin, Kazakhstan

Special Jury Prize: “The Announcement,” Mahmut Fazil Coskun, Turkey

Best Actress: Natalia Kudryashova “A Man Who Surprised Everyone,” Russia

Best Actor: Kais Nashif “Tel Aviv on Fire,” Israel

Best Screenplay: “Jinpa,” Pema Tseden, China

Best Short Film: “Kado,” Aditya Ahmad, Indonesia

LION OF THE FUTURE: “The Day I Lost My Shadow,” Soudade Kaadan, Syria

Luigi De Laurentiis Award for Best Debut Film:


Best Documentary on Cinema:  “The Great Buster: A Celebration,” Peter Bogdanovich

Best Restored Film: “The Night of the Shooting Stars,” Paolo and Vittorio Taviani


Best Virtual Reality: 
“Spheres,” Eliza McNitt

Best Virtual Reality Experience: “Buddy VR,” Chuck Chae

Best Virtual Reality Story: “Isle of the Dead,” Benjamin Nuel

%d bloggers like this: