web analytics
Home / News / Film / 2017 Cannes Film Festival Lineup; Four Nicole Kidman Projects to Hit the Croisette

2017 Cannes Film Festival Lineup; Four Nicole Kidman Projects to Hit the Croisette

The lineup for the 70th Cannes Film Festival has been announced but this year it might as well be called the Nicole Kidman Film Festival as the Oscar-winning actress, and former Cannes jury member, has no less than four projects set to debut at on the Croisette, including two films In Competition. The Beguiled, from Sofia Coppola, and The Killing of a Sacred Deer, from Yorgos Lanthimos, will give the actress a double shot at a prize next month. John Cameron Mitchell’s How to Talk to Girls at Parties will show Out of Competition and Jane Campion’s second season of Top of the Lake will show episodes to the public.

This year’s festival features 49 films from 29 countries, including nine feature debuts and 12 women directors.

The major Hollywood studios are curiously all but absent this year. Warner Bros, 20th Century Fox, Sony, Universal – all studios that have major films this year have decided to eschew the world’s biggest film festival for whatever reason, giving us a much more esoteric and independent lineup.

Television and streaming studios, including Netflix and Amazon, may be a part of that reason. Netflix will have Boon Joon-Ho’s Okja and Amazon will have Todd Haynes’s Wonderstruck in competition this year.”The Cannes Film Festival’s commitment to giving an exceptional platform to distinct stories from the world’s most acclaimed auteurs is second to none,” Netflix’s chief content officer Ted Sarandos said on Thursday. David Lynch will show parts of his new season of Twin Peaks ahead of its Showtime debut on May 21st and the above-mentioned Top of the Lake will hit screens as well. Both Lynch and Campion are no strangers to Cannes; both have won the top prize of the festival, the Palme d’Or.

Politics will be playing a major part of the festival as the sequel to the Oscar-winning An Inconvenient Truth (An Inconvenient Sequel), Sea Sorrow, the feature debut from Oscar-winning actress Vanessa Redgrave, which deals with the migrant crisis and a film about North Korea will populate the French Riviera this year.

The 70th Cannes Film Festival runs May 17-28.

Jury President: Pedro Almodovar

Jury: Jessica Chastain, Will Smith, Fan Bingbing, Gabriel Yared, Paolo Sorrentino, Maren Ade, Agnès Jaoui, Park Chan-wook

Opening Night Film

“Ismael’s Ghost” directed by Arnaud Desplechin

In Competition
L’amant Double directed by François Ozon
120 Battements Par Minute directed by Robin Campillo
The Beguiled directed by Sofia Coppola
The Day After directed by Hong Sangsoo
A Gentle Creature directed by Sergei Loznitsa
Good Time directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie
Happy End directed by Michael Haneke
In the Fade directed by Fatih Akin
Jupiter’s Moon directed by Kornél Mandruczo
The Killing of a Sacred Deer directed by Yorgos Lanthimos
Loveless directed by Andrey Zvyagintse
The Meyerowitz Stories directed by Noah Baumbach
Okja directed by Bong Joon-ho
Radiance directed by Naomi Kawase
Le Redoutable directed by Michel Hazanavicius
Rodin directed by Jacques Doillon
The Square directed by Ruben Östlund
Wonderstruck directed by Todd Haynes
You Were Never Really Here directed by Lynne Ramsay

Out of Competition

Based on a True Story directed by Roman Polanski
Blade of the Immortal directed by Takashi Miike
How to Talk to Girls at Parties” directed by John Cameron Mitchell
Visages, Villages” directed by Agnès Varda

Un Certain Regard

Jury President: Uma Thurman

April’s Daughter directed by Michel Franco
Lucky directed by Sergio Castellitto
Jeune Femme directed by Léonor Serraille
Western directed by Valeska Grisebach
Wind River directed by Taylor Sheridan
Directions directed by Stephan Komandarev
After the War directed by Annarita Zambrano
Dregs directed by Mohammad Rasoulof
Out by György Kristóf
The Nature of Time directed by Karim Moussaoui
Before We Vanish directed by Kurosawa Kiyoshi
L’atelier by Laurent Cantet
Beauty and the Dogs by Kaouther Ben Hania
Barbara directed by Mathieu Amalric
Closeness directed by Kantemir Balagov
The Desert Bride directed by Cecilia Atan and Valeria Pivato

Special Screenings

12 Jours directed by Raymond Depardon
They directed by Anahita Ghazvinizadeh
An Inconvenient Sequel directed by Ronni Cohen and Jon Shenk
Top of the Lake: China Girl directed by Jane Campion & Ariel Kleiman
Promised Land directed by Eugene Jarecki
24 Frames directed by Abbas Kiarostami
Napalm directed by Claude Lanzmann
Come Swim directed by Kristen Stewart
Demons in Paradis” directed by Jude Ratman
Sea Sorrow directed by Vanessa Redgrave
Clair’s Camera directed by Hong Sangsoo
Twin Peaks directed by David Lynch

Midnight Screenings

The Villainess directed by Jung Byung Gil
The Merciless directed by Byun Sung-Hyun
Prayer Before Dawn directed by Jean-Stephane Sauvaire


Director’s Fortnight (Quinzaine des Réalisateurs)

Un beau soleil intérieur – Claire Denis (Opening Film)
A Ciambra – Jonas Carpignano
Alive in France – Abel Ferrara
L’Amant d’un jour – Philippe Garrel
Bushwick – Cary Murnion & Jonathan Milott
Cuori Puri – Roberto De Paolis
The Florida Project – Sean Baker
Frost – Sharunas Bartas
I Am Not A Witch – Rungano Nyoni
Jeannette – Bruno Dumont
L’intrusa – Leonardo Di Costanzo
La defensa del dragón – Natalia Santa
Marlina si pembunuh dalam empat babak – Mouly Surya
Mobile Homes – Vladimir de Fontenay
Nothingwood – Sonia Kronlund
The Rider – Chloé Zhao
Ôtez-moi d’un doute – Carine Tardieu
West Of The Jordan River – Amos Gitai
Patti Cake$ – Geremy Jasper (Closing Film)


Camera d’Or

President: Sandrine Kiberlain


Films: TBA


Critics’ Week (Semaine de la Critique)

Ava by Lea Mysius
La Familia by Gustavo Rondon Cordova
Gabriel and the Mountain by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa
Makala by Emmanuel Gras
Oh Lucy! by Atsuko Hirayanagi
Los Perros by Marcela Said
Tehran Taboo by Ali Soozandeh

Special Screenings
Sicilian Ghost Story by Fabio Grassadonia & Antonio Piazza (Opening Film)
Bloody Milk by Hubert Charuel
A Violent Life by Thierry de Peretti
Brigsby Bear by Dave McCary (Closing Film)


Short Films (Cinéfondation et Courts Métrages)

Jury President: Cristian Mungiu

Teppo AIRAKSINEN – KATTO – Finland
Lucretia ANDREAE – PÉPÉ LE MORSE – animation – France
Mahdi FLEIFEL – A DROWNING MAN – UK, Denmark, Greece
Fiona GODIVER – ACROSS MY LAND – United States
Julia THELIN – PUSH IT – Sweden






About Erik Anderson

Erik blames his mother for his love of all things Oscar, having watched them together since he opened his eyes. They also watched Miss Universe religiously every year (the pageantry!) and Erik came to the conclusion that the combination of these two things ultimately led him down the path to obsessing about awards and ACTRESSING. He began at GoldDerby, led by Tom O’Neill and then migrated over to Oscarwatch (now AwardsDaily), headed up by Sasha Stone before breaking off to create AwardsWatch. He is a member of the International Cinephile Society, GALECA (Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association), the International Press Academy and is the founder/editor of AwardsWatch.

Check Also

Asia Kate Dillon

‘Billions’ Breakout Asia Kate Dillon Tapped as First Presenter at 2017 MTV Movie & TV Awards

MTV has announced that Asia Kate Dillon, the breakout star of the 2nd season of ...