Mon. Sep 28th, 2020

2021 Oscars: International Feature Film Official Selections

The Academy may have pushed the eligibility period for International Feature Film submissions from October to December 31 due to the coronavirus pandemic and keeping in line with other extensions made this year, but it hasn’t stopped at least one country from being first and early with their choice.

Poland is the first country to submit a film for International Feature Film Oscar consideration this season. This is the 52nd submission for the Eastern European country, which has been nominated in this category 12 times and won once (2014’s Ida from Paweł Pawlikowski), began with a shortlist of seven films: Hater, dir. Jan Komasa; Sweat, dir. Magnus von Horn; Sprawa Tomka Komend, dir. Jan Holoubek; Never Gonna Snow Again, dir. Małgorzata Szumowska and Michał Englert; Supernova, dir. Bartosz Kruhlik; Klecha, dir. Jacek Gwizdała and Kill it and Leave This Town, dir. Mariusz Wilczyński.

Poland has chosen Never Gonna Snow Again, directed Małgorzata Szumowska and Michał Englert to represent the country at the next Oscars. The film is the story of a Ukrainian migrant working as a masseur in Poland becomes a guru-like figure in the gated community where his clients live. It will screen at the 77th Venice International Film Festival in September and is the first film from both Szumowska and Englert to be submitted.

Stats and Notes

Number of films with female directors or co-directors (3): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Poland, Switzerland

Here is the official list of submissions for the International Feature Film Oscar, updating throughout the season.

Bhutan2nd submission for Bhutan (first since 1999)
Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom
Pawo Choyning Dorji (1st)
and Herzegovina
21st submission for Bosnia and Herzegovina, which has been nominated and won once (2001's No Man's Land)
Quo Vadis, Aida?
Jasmila Žbanić (1st)
Ivory Coast3rd submission for Ivory Coast, which has won once (1976's Black and White in Color)
Night of the Kings
Philippe Lacôte (2nd)
Poland52nd submission for Poland, which has been nominated 12 times and won once (2014's Ida)
Never Gonna Snow Again
Małgorzata Szumowska (1st) and Michał Englert (1st)
Switzerland48th submission for Switzerland, which has been nominated five times and won twice (1984's Dangerous Moves and 1990's Journey of Hope)
My Little Sister
Stéphanie Chuat (2nd) and Véronique Reymond (2nd)
Taiwan46th submission for Taiwan, which has been nominated 3 times and won once (2000's Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon)
A Sun
Chung Mong-Hong (2nd)
Ukraine13th submission for Ukraine, which has yet to be nominated
Valentyn Vasyanovych (2nd)
%d bloggers like this: