Mon. Feb 24th, 2020

Directors Guild of America (DGA) Nominate Clint Eastwood, Wes Anderson, Morten Tyldum and more


The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has chosen Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Clint Eastwood (American Sniper), Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Birdman), Richard Linklater (Boyhood) and Morten Tyldum (The Imitation Game) as the best directors of a feature film for 2014.

While the first four were more easy to predict, the case for Morten Tyldum was definitely more up in the air. After missing out on Golden Globe and BAFTA nominations for best director he was holding on by a thread here. We could have seen Ava DuVernay (Selma), David Fincher (Gone Girl) or even James Marsh or Damien Chazelle for The Theory of Everything and Whiplash, respectively. They both received BAFTA directing nominations last week.

The nominees:

Clint Eastwood, American Sniper

Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman

Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Anderson, Linklater, and Tyldum are all first-time DGA nominees, Today marks Eastwood’s fourth nomination and Iñárritu’s third. The winner will be announced at the 67th Annual DGA Awards dinner on February 7th at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.


Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: