Fri. Oct 30th, 2020

Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) nominations: ‘The Irishman,’ Once Upon a Time…,’ ‘Marriage Story, ‘ ‘Parasite’ lead

THE IRISHMAN (Courtesy of Netflix)

Winners will be announced on January 6th

The nominations for the 23rd Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) year-end awards were announced today and The Irishman took the lead with eight mentions including Best Picture, Best Director for Martin Scorsese and Best Supporting Actor for both Al Pacino and Joe Pesci.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood was close with seven nominations, Marriage Story and Parasite each came in with six.

The new big names of horror Ari Aster and Jordan Peele kept on working within that genre this year. Peele won the OFCS award for Best Picture in 2017 and this year he is in the running again with four nominations with Us. Aster’s approach to a Nordic pagan festival Midsommar received one nomination for its lead star, Florence Pugh, who was also nominated for Little Women. Greta Gerwig’s new approach to the classic was nominated in three categories.

Another female director that came on strong this year is Céline Sciamma and her film Portrait of a Lady on Fire. The feature got four nominations, all women. In the Debut Feature category we see three other women, Mati Diop (Atlantics), Melina Matsoukas (Queen & Slim) and Olivia Wilde (Booksmart). In 2019, it is the only category (apart from acting) where women have the majority.

Best Picture

The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Knives Out
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Uncut Gems

Best Animated Feature

Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Director

Bong Joon-ho – Parasite
Sam Mendes – 1917
Celine Sciamma – Portrait of a Lady on Fire
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

Best Actor

Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory
Robert De Niro – The Irishman
Adam Driver – Marriage Story
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

Best Actress

Awkwafina – The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
Lupita Nyong’o – Us
Florence Pugh – Midsommar
Renée Zellweger – Judy

Best Supporting Actor

Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Song Kang-ho – Parasite

Best Supporting Actress

Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Margot Robbie – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood
Shuzhen Zhao – The Farewell

Best Original Screenplay

Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
Parasite – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won
Us – Jordan Peele

Best Adapted Screenplay

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood – Micah Fitzerman-Blue, Noah Harpster
Hustlers – Lorene Scafaria
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
Little Women – Greta Gerwig

Best Editing

Ford v Ferrari – Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
1917 – Lee Smith
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Fred Raskin
Parasite – Jinmo Yang

Best Cinematography

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
1917 – Roger Deakins
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood – Robert Richardson
Portrait of a Lady on Fire – Claire Mathon

Best Original Score

Joker – Hildur Guðnadóttir
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917 – Thomas Newman
Us – Michael Abels

Best Debut Feature

Mati Diop – Atlantics
Melina Matsoukas – Queen & Slim
Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz – The Peanut Butter Falcon
Joe Talbot – The Last Black Man in San Francisco
Olivia Wilde – Booksmart

Best Film Not in the English Language

Pain and Glory
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Documentary

American Factory
Apollo 11
For Sama
One Child Nation

Technical Achievement Awards

To Be Announced

Lifetime Achievement Awards

To Be Announced

Special Achievement Awards

To Be Announced

About the Online Film Critics Society
Established in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society continues to support and champion the best of global online film criticism. With an international membership, work is published in more than 15 languages and covers cinema from around the world. More information can be found at

%d bloggers like this: