Tue. Apr 7th, 2020

2018 Berlin Film Festival Winners: ‘Touch Me Not,’ ‘Isle of Dogs,’ ‘The Heiresses’ and more

Touch Me Not (above), the debut film Romanian director Adina Pintille and about the graphic sexual awakening of a 50-something woman, won the Berlin International Film Festival’s top prize, the Golden Bear. It was somewhat of a surprise pick from the Tom Tykwer-led jury. The film also won the first feature prize.

In this decade, three countries have won the Golden Bear twice: Iran (2011 and 2015), Italy (2012 and 2016) and now Romania (2013 and 2018).

Another double winner was Marcelo Martinessi’s The Heiresses, which took home the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize and the Silver Bear for Best Actress to Ana Brun.

Wes Anderson was the lone American winner, grabbing the Silver Bear for Best Director for his heartfelt stop-motion animated film Isle of Dogs and the Silver Bear Jury Prize went to Malgorzata Szumowska’s Mug.

Here is the full list of winners of the 2018 Berlin International Film Festival

Golden Bear for Best Film

Touch Me Not by director Adina Pintilie

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize

Mug from director Malgorzata Szumowska (Review)

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize for a feature film that opens new perspectives

The Heiresses from director Marcelo Martinessi (Review)

Silver Bear for Best Director

Wes Anderson for Isle of Dogs (Review)

Silver Bear for Best Actress

Ana Brun for Marcelo Martinessi’s The Heiresses (Review)

Silver Bear for Best Actor

Anthony Bajon for Cedric Kahn’s The Prayer (Review)

Silver Bear for Best Screenplay

Alonso Ruizpalacios and Manuel Alcala for Museum (Review)

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution in the categories camera, editing, music score, costume or set design

Elena Okopnaya for the costumes for Alexey German Jr.’s Dovlatov

Let us know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: